Say Goodnight And Go…

As I was sitting here writing, this song started playing and I had to abandon my prior post to share it.

Do you ever notice different times in your life have a certain soundtrack? I know, it sounds strange, but just how some people remember events in their life as a way of tracking time, I’m that way with music. This artist has been in my soundtrack for a while now and her songs have been with me through times of sadness and loneliness as well as times of joy. Her voice is beautiful, yet haunting and mysterious and then the music itself is so intricate and complex that it’s so easy for me to get lost in it. Sometimes that lost feeling is strangely comforting, especially when I need to be distracted.

This song coincides perfectly with all of the thoughts in my head right now that I am struggling to put into words. I am hoping that if I just say goodnight now, it will all be clearer in the morning…

This entry was posted in coping, life, love, music, random, thoughts, youtube video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Say Goodnight And Go…

  1. sleepyjane says:

    **HUGS* I love this song. Sleep well my friend.

    K-Slept heavenly, thanks! Hope you are enjoying your break today! *hugs*

  2. tenacioustimothy says:

    Ahh I can’t see the YouTube but that can only be the stunning and absolutely amazing voice of Imogen Heap- the song Hide and Seek literally stopped me in my tracks one day and I haven’t looked back since. Excellent music and a great soundtrack to have at the moment so I do hope it helps you:-) The Imperial Theme March is usually my soundtrack (think Darth Vader!)…discordant and jarring but it makes me stand a bit taller!

    K-Tim, my entire family is full of Star Wars lovin’ men so I know exactly what you mean! My nephew used to hum that theme constantly when he was 2, and up until a year ago my husband had SW filled dreams at least once a week…I’m not kidding! Of course you would know Imogen, being the music lover that you are! Glad you approve. πŸ™‚

  3. I can still hear songs and remember exactly what was going on in my life when that song was playing. But, I am bad at remembering artists and song names. Just the music sticks.

    K-I’m the same way with a lot of new songs, thank goodness for Google! πŸ˜‰ Amazing what memories songs evoke, isn’t it?

  4. Sister Sassy says:

    thanks for sharing. I love songs and music and they do always seem to capture what is happening in my life.

    I haven’t heard this song before, I tend to stick with Pandora and NPR lol So thanks for sharing

    K-I need to send you some music! Or maybe I need to listen to NPR more! πŸ˜‰

  5. Ann says:

    Oh yes – songs are like smells – they just as poignant and can bring back memories in much the same way for me. πŸ™‚

    K-Good point. Smells are just as powerful at bringing back a moment for me.

  6. bookbabie says:

    I often find myself singing (in my head) the lines of specific songs that coincide, or even seem to hold a message for me, about something that is happening in my life.

    K-Ditto! Sometimes it’s annoying because someone will be talking to me and I get a song in my head that goes along and I can’t concentrate! But most of the time I enjoy this blessing/curse. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment!

Leave a comment