Bougainvillea (and other random spins)

Don’t you love the name of that plant? 

I didn’t know its name before our family moved to Arizona 18 months ago,  but I remember seeing these beautiful plants along the freeways when we would visit. The ‘blooms’ are actually leaves that change colors on the vine, and I absolutely love them. BTW, they are pictured in my header. I don’t have a backyard (yet) but when I do, they will be the first of many plantings.

After my crappy run on Saturday I just wanted to hop on a plane and head straight back to Utah. My head was still spinning, and I hoped that I could at least go home, jump on my laptop, and maybe sort out my thoughts online. But when I was turning onto our street, I noticed how vibrant the bougainvillea appeared against the charcoal sky. It was striking, and for the second time time that day, I lost my breath.  I had only one thought after that, and I ran home and grabbed my camera. The old one. The kind I haven’t used since college, when I used to think of myself as a photographer.

I think this is one of the answers I had been searching for regarding the “how to fix k” question. I love photography and I actually think I have an eye for it, but somehow, like many things that I love, I set my camera aside and hoped I would find some free time. I tend to have a short attention span, as well as three wonderful little distractions, so it’s not a surprise that I don’t get much of that these days. However, in my new mindset, many things can change.

This morning as I was making my way home from a great run, I saw the landscapers blowing the bougainvillea leaves out of the gutter. I know it seems silly, but for a second I was a little sad to see the fushia ‘blossoms’ being taken away . But then I caught myself smiling with the knowledge that I don’t need those constant reminders of beauty. I have my memories (and photos) and sometimes that is more rewarding.

Stormy weather is gone, and we are back to sunny skies (and moods) in AZ!

This entry was posted in photography, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bougainvillea (and other random spins)

  1. p3333 says:

    I like your header pic very much.

    P.

  2. kspin says:

    Thanks for your comment, and your tip!

    k

Leave a Reply

