Distract me. . . ready. . . go!

 I need a day like yesterday.

I love days that are jam-packed with projects, gatherings, and deadlines. I tend to have a short attention span (which I am totally fine with) and I am also somewhat of a procrastinator, so when I know there is not any more time to spare, I can multitask like nobody’s business!

For example, yesterday I made 26 (rather clever) Christmas “tags” at 9am for my monthly card swap that began at 11am, then went from there to pick up groceries and a couple of kids that I’ve volunteered to watch. While making snacks and keeping kids busy with games and such, I made a double batch of Oatmeal Craisin cookies (yum) for a girl scout party, cut out 130 paper ‘wreaths’ for all my crafty girl scouts, and made dinner. 

I have had way too much free time to play the ‘poor me’ game, and distractions are a necessity right now. My husband has dubbed the last few months “Autumn DramaFest 2007” and though I don’t think he’s very funny, it’s true. He and I have both taken turns being sad, sulky, and just pathetic overall.

Many things have helped me to get out of this ‘rut’ I was in like running, music, hanging out with friends, taking photos, playing outside with my kids, and blogging. I feel great and I am almost totally back to ‘my old self’ again. The problem is that Christmas is coming up too quickly and I am not even a little prepared.  Until now, I haven’t been in that mode of thinking, I have a huge list of unfinished projects, and not one gift has been purchased.

I don’t want to think about all the goodies I have to make for my neighbors. I don’t want to think about packing for the 5 of us and making the long drive to Utah. I don’t want to think about gifts, wrapping paper, Christmas cards, crowded stores, or winter clothes. I don’t want anyone else to tell me how happy they are that they are finished with all of their shopping. I don’t want to think about how much time I wasted watching chick flicks or surfing online when I could have finished my shopping too.

I’m not snubbing all things Christmas, but I know with my multitasking skills I can afford at least a couple more days of blissful distraction. So for now, I’ll just calmly sit doing my puzzle, maybe have some hot chocolate, and pretend that Christmas is not less than 3 weeks away.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

