Sabbatical?! I Want One!

This is the coolest thing ever!

As I am trying to make sure my husband will be able to work remotely at Christmas (so we don’t have to use all of his vacation), my friend is planning an eight, yes EIGHT, week plan for her husband’s upcoming sabbatical. What?! I thought that was only for writers or professors, but apparently Intel provides eight weeks PAID sabbatical for employees after every seven years of full time service! I am in awe. Truly. And of course very jealous!

They are planning a trip to New Zealand for 2 weeks without the kids, and then they are thinking of renting an RV and driving across the country with the whole family. They most likely will have a couple weeks just to be home and do whatever they want as well. 

Everyone needs something like this. Think about it. How much more effective could you be after a paid break like that? You could take up a new hobby, travel, write, photograph, catch up on all those missed concerts and movies. And when you did go back, you would feel ‘alive’ and ‘renewed’. You wouldn’t switch jobs, because what other company would offer those kinds of perks? So it’s a good thing for the company too.

I need this. I have had my ‘job’ for 6 and a half years, and I’m ready for that break. I would even settle for 2 weeks. That’s all I need. I just want a beautiful room and a beach, with just my towel and about 5 books. (and maybe a camera) That’s it. I’m pretty easy to please. I would even settle for one week, and stay home, if I could be alone to do all the projects I want.

But here’s the problem. My job doesn’t offer those kinds of benefits. There is not ‘extra coverage’. No ‘PTO’. No temp to take my place, or fill in. I have convinced my husband that this is a good thing, and he is all for it if I can find a replacement for myself. Hmm. . . not likely.

I love my job. There is no doubt about this. There is nothing I would like doing more. I have just realized that even the bests jobs are still jobs, and everyone, especially the moms deserve a break.

This entry was posted in family, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

