Finally Finished!

all-folded-up-so-nice-small.jpg

To prove that I wasn’t a total slacker this fall, I thought I would show off this denim quilt I made. This was supposed to be last year’s (2006) Christmas present to my sister, but I only started this last October. I did get everything done by Christmas except for tying, so I was able to wrap it and at least show her that I did really make one this year.

full-quilt-small.jpg

Every year I make a denim quilt for someone in my family and right now I am a year behind. I would like to eventually make one for each of my siblings and my parents. So far I have made two for my sisters, one for my brother, my sister-in-law and my in-laws. Oh, and I did make a bed cover for the in-law’s dog Susie. I try to use a different pattern for each one, but this last one was really easy and I like how it turned out, so the front of the next one may end up being the same.

single-square-small.jpg

I started by sewing a 4″ square of denim onto a 6″ square, and then that one onto an 8″ square. I didn’t try to center them exactly because I wanted to give it a sort of casual and thrown together look. I just used denim from jeans that I had saved, but for the background I bought some dark denim and cut it into 14″ squares. I sewed the ‘piled’ pieces onto the dark squares and layed them out and picked a pattern. After I attatched all of the squares I washed it 3 or 4 times to get the ends to fray. It will look better and better each time she washes it as the frays will get a little bushier.

 paisely-macro-small.jpg

My sister’s bedroom growing up was very purple, and though she claims she hates purple now, this material looked just like her to me. She loves it of course despite the color, and it was just meant to be a picnic blanket so I wasn’t too worried about matching it to anything in her house.

quilt-pocket-stitch-macro-small.jpg

I didn’t want to bind the sides, so I put both ‘fronts’ together and sewed all sides leaving a hole on one side about a foot long. Then I flipped it right side out and sewed the hole up by hand. I was super pleased with my hand stitching work and I like the clean edges this method provides. I have tried to machine/hand bind denim quilts, and I haven’t been as satisfied with the results. This is by far the easiest way to do it, and you avoid sewing through more than two layers of fabric. . . nice.

I ususally tie my quilts, and on this one I used a cream color yarn to match the back and I tied it so that the ‘tufts’ are on that side. You can see a little of the yarn on the corners of the denim squares in the first 2 pictures. I like to show off the denim design and I think the yarn is a little distracting if the tufts show.

Six quilts down and three to go. . .

This entry was posted in Christmas, crafts, family, photography, random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finally Finished!

  1. Liberty says:

    oooooh can i be your new best friend? lol
    I looooove denim (I call it the all purpose fabric) I really like your quilt, very nice

  2. kspin says:

    Of course you can be my new best friend, but only because you were so nice about my quilt! Thanks!

  3. Allison says:

    I really like your quilt– I was googling for denim quilt patterns/designs because I have a ton of old jeans that I plan to use in a quilt… and I see your cool design. I really like it! I’ve been a bit concerned about the thickness of the layers of denim that I’ll be working with… but layering square upon square is a cool idea, and I would think it wouldn’t be too thick, especially using a Jeans needle. I also like your idea of not doing a traditional double fold binding, so as to reduce the bulk. Very nice!

    K-Thank you so much for this nice comment! It really is a fast and easy pattern. Good luck with yours! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Sew Busy… « Kspin’s Weblog

  5. Anne Greene says:

    I just love your denim quilt. Your great use of different values of the denim blue color makes the quilt. Keep posting all your denim quilts. I would love to see them all.

    K-Thank you so much! I haven’t made one for a while, but I’ll try to track down some of my other denim quilt pictures. I’m in the baby quilt mode right now…

Leave a Reply

