4 Years…..

I have a hard time thinking that my baby girl is going to be 4 tomorrow. It feels like she has been a part of our lives for so long, yet I can remember her birth like it was yesterday.

miranda-easter-2006-copy-blog.jpg

Her hair was dark red when she was born, so we were surprised when it all fall out and was replaced with blond ‘fuzz’. By the time she was 1 she could say quite a few words, and my husband would joke around and say that she should focus on growing hair now. She had to endure countless ‘nicknames’ from him as well, as all of my children have had too. She has been called “google shorts”, “kwee kwee” (no idea on this one!) but now most of the time she is “Coo Coo Bird” to him.

She is my comedian, my risk taker, and can get under her Dad’s skin just as well as I do. I think that is mostly due to the fact that we are both middle children. She also has a very sweet and sensitive side as well. When she is not snorting or making fart noises at the kitchen table, she can be found playing with her dolls, or twirling around the living room in her ‘cupcake’ dresses. This is the term that she and her big sister came up with after they discovered how a blowing floor vent could poof out their skirts. Now they test new dresses to see if they pass the cupcake test. If it doesn’t pass, they refuse to wear it.

miranda-birthday-party-2007-022-copy-blog.jpg

If we go to the beach or the park her favorite place is always in the sand. She can sit for hours on end creating great castles or intricate tunnel systems with her little green shovel. By the time we are ready to leave the playground she is filthy. Seriously. She will be covered head to toe in dirt. (think Charlie Brown’s friend ‘Pigpen’) She can be in a friend’s backyard for ten minutes and will still emerge looking like she’s been dragged behind a car. But at least she has her skirt or dress on to remind us that she is in fact, a girl. We already have the fights over what she can and can’t wear and I am afraid for her teenage years.

My ‘M’ is the one who can make a new best friend wherever we go, whether it’s McDonald’s, the park or even in the toy section of Target. She will also expect to see this “Amber”, “Ellie” or whoever she met the next time we go to that place. I am amazed by her tenacity and self-trust. I know that she will grow to be a strong and confidant woman.

miranda-2007-nov-blog.jpg

I love to play games with you. (even when you win) I love that you memorize books and are so proud to ‘read’ them to me. I love that you make your whole family smile and laugh. I love that you are the first one to share your toys, your treats. I love how your eyes light up when you get to go along with your sister for a ‘grownup’ activity. I love your infectious energy. I love that you are so sweet and look out for your baby brother. I love your deep belly laugh and your dimpled smile.

I can’t wait to see all of the great things you will do and to watch you as you learn and grow. Our family would not be complete without you………

Happy birthday baby girl!

This entry was posted in family, life, love, photography, random, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 4 Years…..

  1. Sister Sassy says:

    AW, Happy birthday! They grow up so fast don’t they?

  2. Autumn LeBeau says:

    Happy Birthday! She is so cute! And it does fly by, doesn’t it?

  3. Happy Birthday Cutie!! 🙂

  4. kspin says:

    Thanks for your Birthday wishes! She had a great day!

  5. smack says:

    what a little cutie!

Leave a Reply

