Miss Mary

A couple of days ago someone asked me who or what inspires me. She talked about the people who have been a huge inspiration to her, and the places she has visited that had a similar effect. I honestly couldn’t think of one person, or one class or one event that stuck out in my mind.

At first this bothered me, but the more I thought about it I realized that it is very rare for a day to go by that I am not inspired by something or someone. There is always something positive to be found in the things I read, hear or observe that I can relate to and use in my own life. I guess it has become somewhat of an automatic behavior for me. . .self presevation maybe? motivation? I’m not sure if it’s that I actually search these things out, or if I am just keeping my mind and heart open.

With that said, I feel bad that in all of my excitement over seeing Adam Levine the other night, I didn’t mention Mary J. Blige. I wanted to, but my post was already really long and I was too busy making a fuss over Maroon 5! But standing there in front of her I had one of those moments of inspiration and I tried to remember her words and the feeling, so I could draw on it later. Later ended up being yesterday, and this song and her words helped me get through my day.

I don’t remember her exact words, but right before she sang the song “Hurt” she talked to all the women in the audience. It was something to the effect that all of us get hurt and the pain seems unbearable, and it takes all that you have to move on, but when you do heal you get stronger. But then she said when you fall in love again, make sure to “keep something deep inside for just yourself” so that if you do get hurt you have that. Proof that she lives to her word, before one song she said “I don’t care if any of you like this song, but this is for me so too bad”. 

I don’t know why this resonated so much with me, but I felt such a connection with her at the moment. You could tell that this was someone who had gone through tremendous pain and heartache, and yet here she was giving of herself and helping others who may be having hard times as well. I was so impressed with her performance as well as her integrity.

Just her physical presence onstage is pretty powerful. She is very deliberate in her actions and she exudes confidence. When she sings she gives herself. . . all of herself. There was so much passion and honesty in her performance that I was taken aback. Even though she had all of this power and confidence, she still made it a point to really ‘speak’ to the crowd. She made eye contact with her fans, waved, touched their hands and shared some amazing messages with everyone. Not to mention that her voice is absolutely perfect! She sounded incredible live!

I liked her music, but wouldn’t have considered myself a ‘fan’ before the show and I’m not sure if I will ever be a true fan, but I will remember her words and the impression that they have had on me. I will remember to be strong and to value all that I have. For this, Miss Mary, I thank you.

This entry was posted in life, love, music, random, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miss Mary

  1. sertop says:

    She’s rockin some cool shades here too

  2. Sister Sassy says:

    I like that, never listened much to Mary J but have to respect what she has to say.

  3. I think we can all relate to “keep something for yourself.”

    Especially, us Moms . . .

    We are always giving everything of ourselves, away . . .

    Sometimes it feels as if there is nothing left, for us.

    It’s definitely a reminder . . .

    “Keep something for yourself . ..”

    I like that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

