Seriously Random Moments

I feel lucky to be the kind of person who is frequently inspired and to have had so many ‘aha’ moments in my life. I get many of these moments after visiting my blogging friends, or when I get great comments from people like bookbabie and I know that they ‘get it’.

It is very rare that I am not inspired in so many ways after visiting Aaron’s site, which reminds me of all the simple things. Often times I will pull out my sewing machine after looking through Autum’s site because her projects are so amazingly cute and un-cheesy. I always get a smile checking in on Smack (who I think I would be like if I lived in NY,was single and much cooler). Tim’s blog is always a good source for new music, Bingwalker takes amazing black and white photos and if you visit Diva you will find great links and as much fun randomness that you find here! I also seriously think that Rambling and I are were seperated at birth! It’s downright scary sometimes!

The last few days, however, I have been in a mental haze. I have started doing my dreaded lists (to do lists, budget lists, etc.), and I am actually accomplishing more during the day because of them. But at night after I have so carefully planned out my writing time, I find myself sitting in front of my computer with absolutely nothing in my head. Nada.

I think part of the problem is that I have been experiencing some not-so-inspiring moments. For example, I took the garbage to the road last night and noticed that there were still puddles in the backyard from recent rain storms. No big deal right? However, when I took the trash can back through the gate this afternoon I found that I now had a muddy lake in my backyard. This is what I call a “what the @#!?” moment because of this phrase that runs through my head when I encounter something like this. Apparently one of my kids left the hose on, but it was so low that the trickle of water coming out was virtually undetectable.

Saturday mornings I do my long training runs, and lately I don’t get home until noon. My kids like spending this time with their Dad watching cartoons or playing games. This last weekend I came home from one of these particularly grueling runs and plopped down on the couch. As my husband sat down by me to discuss how the run went, our noses were suddenly assaulted with a very strange but sweet smell. It was my husband this time who started the “what in the…..??” phrase, as my 4 and 6 year old girls came into the room all dressed up, with makeup on and very wet hair. Upon closer inspection their hair wasn’t wet, it was crispy, like it could break off in your hand crispy. I went upstairs into my bathroom to find every bottle of hair gel, mousse, pomade, butch wax, shine enhancer, frizz controller and hairspray out on my counter. Not to mention quite the mess. Nice.

It was my turn to host the monthly card swap luncheon last week where we exchanged these cute Valentine’s Day and wedding cards. I got my carpet steamed, put out some festive decorations and cleaned up the whole house. The day before the party, baby P and I were home alone just hanging out watching The Wiggles on tv. He was being so good that I thought I would sneak into the office and print up my tags for these cute fortune cookies that I copied out of my ‘Living’ magazine for my friends. I was right around the corner from P and could hear him giggling and singing along with some of the songs.

After about 5 minutes I heard a little rustling in the living room, but didn’t pay much attention to it. I usually have some magazines or the crossword puzzle from the newspaper out, so I figured that he was playing with one of those things. A few minutes later I was finished with my project and walked out into the living room to see that cute little P had opened every single package of pop tarts and they were crushed and scattered all over my newly cleaned carpet.

I think I actually said the phrase out loud this time, and it’s a good thing that P is only 1 and didn’t have any idea what I was saying! All I could do was laugh partly because I was so surprised that he actually got them out of the pantry by himself, and also because I didn’t know those chubby little fingers could get those packages open! He was so proud of himself and probably thought that I was proud too when I pulled out the camera, so he posed with his mess for me.

   look-what-i-did.jpg

so-proud.jpg

There are many more of these great moments I get to experience everyday, so it’s no wonder that my brain is fried by bedtime. If nothing else, it does give me something to blog about!

This entry was posted in family, life, photography, random, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Seriously Random Moments

  1. lyricallyme says:

    Oh my gosh! My daughter likes to destroy my carpet with dry oatmeal. That stuff DOES NOT come out unless you vacuum 3 or 4 times!! That’s a typical day for us!!

  2. tenacioustimothy says:

    Ah yes pop-tarts are a bit of nuisance to get out…why I went with wooden floors in the new house! Have a few pics like yours though so you can have a laugh after all the cleaning up is done!

  3. Such a cute pic! I can’t help but grab the camera every time my kids create a disaster–And you’re right–at least they are giving us blog material!

    Never a shortage around here! 🙂

  4. kspin says:

    Yes, I have a feeling that hardwood floors are definetly in our future! 🙂

    …and maybe I should upgrade my homeowners policy!

  5. sleepyjane says:

    That is so adorable! 🙂

  6. bookbabie says:

    Interesting, here you are trying to get organized with your lists, running all day and “accomplishing more” and in steps the universe with all those little messes. Why?

  7. kspin says:

    I’m not sure bb, but let’s hope it’s not karma! 🙂 I don’t worry too much, I try to focus on the fact that I get to be such a big part of my kid’s lives, and I’m learning to be more patient!

    Thanks to you all for the great comments!

  8. Sister sassy says:

    I think some of those things deserved a well uttered “what the F-”

    it slips from all of us…or maybe just me!

    Bookbabie has an interesting question…hmmm..weird. Maybe you can use the theory to justify doing nothing all day 🙂

  9. Autumn says:

    I’d almost forgotten the days of toddlers and pop-tarts. What is it with squishing them into carpet? And then, of course, crying because the pop tart is all gone. And perhaps listening to Mommy cry because the carpet is now smushed with gooey fruit filling. Having kids brings the phrase “What the %^$%?” to a whole new level!

Leave a Reply

