Grrrrrrl Scout Cookies!

Is it over yet?

How long can it last? Seriously. I am up to my eyeballs in Thin Mints, Trefoils and Somoas and I have had enough! This is my first year as a Girl Scout leader and I had no idea what the cookie sales were all about. Apparently this is THE event of the year as far as fundraising goes, but when will it end?!

There is a “Cookie Mom” who volunteers to keep track of all the orders coming in and keeps her shelves stocked for all our little ‘Brownie’ selling machines. Unfortunately she has had enough of this cookie business, so I offered to take over the last few weeks for her. What in the world was I thinking? Not only do I have G.S. moms and ‘friends’ calling at all hours of the day to pick up more of the annoying little boxes, but I have to try and figure out the computer system to keep track of all these cookie comings and goings.

No wonder that my cookie mama got fed up. Some of the parents are so concerned about their girls getting credit for the whole 5 boxes of cookies that they sold in front of Walmart because they need that sparkly water bottle holder and matching bag! If one more person calls me to ask if I’m sure that we are out of Do-Si-Dos, or if I find one more empty Thin Mint box that my kids or husband have helped themselves to, I think I may indeed lose it.

I want to have time to blog again, to do my laundry, to sleep or at least think about anything but cookies. I do have hope that in a few short weeks I won’t have to think about any of it anymore.  Until next years cookie sales….

This entry was posted in family, life, random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grrrrrrl Scout Cookies!

  1. sleepyjane says:

    lol

    Awww, sounds like you’re ‘snowed’ under all the cookies! 🙂

    We don’t have that here. 😦 Too dangerous.

    Good luck and it’ll be over before you know it!

  2. tenacioustimothy says:

    Haha- yep my mother fell into the same trap when my sister was in scouts! Am sooo hungry for Somoa’s now…will have to get onto my mom to ship some over!!

  3. MMMMM!!! I wish I was up to my eyeballs in Girl Scout cookies! I love those things!!!

    I used to buy several boxes every year, when I was teaching.

    But now, I don’t know any Girl Scouts!! 🙂

  4. kspin says:

    I used to love Girl Scout cookies too, but I think I ate my weight in GS cookies this year! 😉

  5. bookbabie says:

    I remember those days, don’t miss em’!

Leave a Reply

