Out Of Practice

There was a time when my husband traveled a lot and it wouldn’t phase me. Not anymore…

I would make a terrible single mom. I don’t know if it’s the addition of the third child, or if I have become better at delegating over the years, but I don’t know how I used to do it all alone. Part of the problem is that when my husband is in town, he can work from home if I have a busy day and need to run errands, or workout, or if I just don’t feel like being at home alone. (I know, so spoiled) I willingly admit that I have it pretty cushy most of the time. I have so much respect for all working moms and all the moms single or otherwise who truly do it all on their own every week. I do know just how easy I have it and feel very lucky to get all of the help I require receive from my husband.

Don’t get me wrong, I paid my dues for this luxury. Our first four years of marriage I was the main source of income and still did most of the cooking, shopping and cleaning. There was the transition period where we both were getting used to being parents where things were pretty equal. Then there was the year before we moved. Jspin would work for weeks at a time in Arizona, while I would be at home taking care of our two girls, our house, yard, bills, etc. Oh, and I was pregnant and working too! This was when I was not so spoiled. However, I had a great routine in place and I seemed to get everything done.

I remember putting the house up for sale when we decided to move to Phoenix; I turned into a real super-mommy! I painted, steamed carpets, packed (I hate packing) and cleaned like crazy. I’m sure it helped that I was 7 months along and in that total ‘nesting’ mode. Our house sold in a week, we moved, and I had Pitter Patter 3 weeks later. Oh, and I did paint the entire little rental house before delivering as well. I think I was a having some sort of episode back then, but man! was I productive!

Yesterday I was a slug and it was all I could do to get Big M off to school on time. (this is usually Jspin’s job while I get my morning run in) I don’t think I got out of my pajamas until right before Girl Scouts started at 6 pm! I left dishes in the sink, clean clothes on the dryer, bed unmade and other lots of other things I’m not going to admit. (husband does read this!)

Today I’m getting the hang of it. I was dressed before noon for one, and I have both the dishwasher and washing machine going. The kitchen is spotless and even though I have a long to do list, I am plugging away at. It seems like a big feat, but when I think back to what I was doing two years ago it sounds pathetic! I should be tackling some major painting project or cleaning out the garage, but this week I’ll just be happy to get the house back to an acceptable level of cleanliness.

I think it would be good for me to have another week alone to whip myself back into total ‘mom’ mode again. I only have two days left of single-hood, but I can feel myself slowly switching gears and I’m trying not to lose my momentum. I’m too spoiled now and do way too much procrastinating. It will be good for me to take over the household a little longer and get my groove back.

But if you are my husband and are reading this, I’m just kidding. I really need you and miss you. . . hurry home sweetie!

This entry was posted in family, humor, life, love, random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Out Of Practice

  1. jspin says:

    Oh, your hubby is reading alright! Personally, I think you’ve been spending a little too much time with these liberated Oprah blogger types. When I get home, I’m expecting to see some June Kspin Cleaver. Straight up Donna Reed. Yeah that’s right. Time to turn back the clock about 50 years. Where’s my smoking jacket? Where’s my dinner?!! Lucy?!

    Kspin, eh? More like SPIN cycle! As in the washing machine. Like permanent press in a white dress. You better get your groove back, ’cause I’m coming home. Yeah. Home to Pleasantville.

    How ya like me now? That’s the way we roll from now on.

    Or, you know . . .

    Not.

    k will always come before j in my alphabet . . .

    Kspin- leave it to you to write a book! πŸ˜‰ now stop hogging!

  2. luckily the Mr. doesn’t travel very often. I don’t think I would like that much.

    Kspin-I don’t mind too much now as it is pretty rare. Sometimes a little break is nice… πŸ™‚

  3. Can’t function without my other half!

    We’re 50/50 here, otherwise I’d be far nuttier than I am already!

    Kspin-We’re more like 75/25 right now, and I’m embarrassed to say that I’m the 25! Yikes! …I’ll be better soon! πŸ™‚

  4. wenige says:

    No, i did play in a band with a Mormon a few years ago, though (It really helped me clean up my potty mouth). I’m not religious at all really. It just so happens a lot of great songs have been written about Jesus.

    I was just thinking how foreign everything you’ve written here is to me. Well, except the parts pertaining to laziness. Keep on keeping on i say, as at your alleged worst you do better than some mums i know who are functioning at maximum output.

    Kspin-Thanks for stopping by. Maybe someday I’ll write something you can relate too! πŸ˜‰ I do agree with you, there are a lot of good songs about Jesus! Come back anytime.

  5. sleepyjane says:

    Awwwww. πŸ™‚ J does help out tons too. I don’t know what I’d do without him. The other day I wanted to pour myself a glass of coke and the cap was on too tight. I had to wait until he got home before I could get me some coca cola! πŸ™‚ lol See. Useful.

    Kspin-lol! That’s awesome! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

