Not So Wordless Wednesday

Thanks so much to everyone who participated in my first-ever contest! This was so much fun and I can’t wait for Sister Sassy to get her ‘happy’ package! It’s still a surprise for now, but I’ll take a picture of the contents before I send it!

I also want you all to know how nice it was to have your ‘happy thoughts’ handy for a little pick me up all week. I love, love, love to hear the things that make us all so unique, and yet so similar too. Some of you commented here about major life-changing events like new babies, and some had little things that made them happy like sitting in the sunshine or smelling their boyfriend’s head, of course blogging and many more. All of them made me smile, so thank you.

The charity that Sassy picked for a donation is called The Front Porch. I have been doing a little reading about this charity here, and it sounds like a great organization! Very homey and down to Earth. Definitely something I would like to be a part of. If you have a minute or two, you should check them out!

Speaking of people doing nice things for others, take a look at this bench that my FIL made for me. I knew that he had been working on it for a little while, but he surprised us with it when he got here last Friday.

It’s my new favorite place to sit in the kitchen now when I am supervising kid craft/painting projects or looking up recipes. I love it! It was meant to be my birthday present back in November, but I’m glad for the timing. I needed something to get me excited about house remodeling projects again!

My husband made the shelf for me a couple of years ago after I saw one just like it in PB. He adjusted the cubby sizes to accommodate my recipe books and baskets for the millions of Taste Of Home magazines that I have. (I seriously love those btw!) This has been J’s one and only project, and I think he did a beautiful job. His skills are more in the music making/writing area so this shelf has really earned him some bragging rights!

Thanks again for all of your participation in the contest. I think I was probably just as excited as all of you were to pick a winner. I made my husband stay up until midnight just in case there were any last minute comments! I know, I’m weird. Giving just feels good, so don’t be surprised if I start to do more of these contests. It also reminds me to do nice things for those close to me as well. Sometimes it is easy to forget those that we see everyday.

I hope you all enjoy the rest of your Wednesday. I couldn’t just leave today a ‘wordless’ day. . . I like talking way too much!

This entry was posted in contests, family, life, love, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not So Wordless Wednesday

  1. I LOVE this idea Kspin!!

    Thank you so much again for keeping this going! So glad you are making a donation as well!

    I need to start doing a “Give-Away,” regularly too!

    I LOVE that idea!!!

    And that shelf and bench . . .I NEED BOTH!!!

    SO, SO, COOL!

    And I can’t wait to see what is in your “give-away,” surprise!!

  2. sleepyjane says:

    Congrats to Sister Sassy!!

    That bench is adorable! I love furniture and that’s a gem!!

  3. Lucky you to have such crafty family members. I love the bench and shelf!

  4. Sister Sassy says:

    Kspin makes ME happy! I can’t wait to see what I get.

    The bench is awesome.

    And the front porch is too, my friend Jean lived in Detroit and she just started having kids at her house after school. SHe’s this little white girl working with a bunch of smart mouth kids. Its so funny watching them interact.

    I worked with a Native AMerican tribe up here in the Great Northern Wasteland. She and coordinated a camp outing with the Native youth and her kids. So many of them had never been in the woods, they were SO freaked out lol! It was very cute. but they really enjoyed the time they had and the cultural exposure to the Natives.

  5. kspin says:

    I’m glad you picked such a cool cause Sassy! I’ll post of pick of your ‘goodies’ soon! 🙂

    Thanks for the comments y’all!

  6. Nicole Price says:

    Good cause and great furniture. The bench and shelf are both great. Very thoughtful of your FIL for making a bench that matches perfectly with your shelf.

Leave a Reply

