I Heart Hard Things

Another busy weekend with the in-laws.

We got some more landscaping done, had a birthday party and did some good ol’ relaxing too. Thank goodness for that, because I feel like my head may explode with all of the thinking that my little brain is doing!

Again, I have having photo issues here, so I’ll have to come back and add photos to this post later…sorry about that!

The backyard is coming right along and it is finally looking like a real yard. The sprinkling system is in and ready to be buried. The drip system’s main line is in and as soon as I buy some trees and shrubs and put them in, we can add finish that system as well. I didn’t think I would be so excited about cement and cinderblock, but wow! What a huge difference it has made to have a wall around the air conditioning units, and a bigger patio.

*Update* We now have pictures!

The curbing was put in on Friday, and now my design is finally taking shape. I can picture how the small kidney-shaped area of grass will look, and I have the north side of my new ‘wall’ all set up to be a salsa garden. I’m probably most excited for this part as I really miss having my hands in the earth.

We did an early birthday celebration for my son and nephew on Friday night so that my FIL could be there. He flew out on Saturday, but MIL is staying for another week to help with the kids while I am in Utah for the marathon. I’m very relieved to have her here. Coordinating babysitters for three days would’ve been really tough! I’m pleased that J and his mom will have some quality time together as well. They can stay up and watch some chick flicks and eat sweets together. (seriously, they will)

Sunday was a great lazy day (after church) and I did very little. I’m a little worked up and nervous about traveling away for the marathon as I don’t know what to expect in terms of weather, and I’m also hoping that I trained hard enough for this race. I’m sure a lot of it is just pre-race jitters, but I’m even having nightmares about not being able to run.

I wish I could take all of my blogging friends with me to the race. Some of my family will be there and a couple friends, and I’m really excited to have them to cheer me on, but you are the ones who have been along for most of this journey with me. You have had to endure my posts about running where I have told of panic attacks, potty issues, sore muscles and frustrations. You have also shared moments of euphoria, reflection, determination and peace. I’m sure you won’t miss all of the marathon talk either. My husband and everyone else here will be happy for that I think. Lol.

When I run through that finish line I will be thinking of all of you and how your thoughts and comments boosted me during times when it wasn’t so easy to get out and run, or just get through my day for that matter. Everyone should have something like this. What a different world we would have if everyone felt as supported and encouraged as I do right now. *sorry. . .cheesy moment*

Seriously though, it really has been amazing for me to have this place where I can go back to any day in the last 5 months and see what my run was like, what I was doing or feeling and who shared those things with me. Pretty incredible, don’t you think? You, my readers, are the variable that makes me so addicted to happy to be blogging. I say it a lot, but thank you. This is so much better than a journal!

This entry was posted in family, life, love, photography, random, running, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Heart Hard Things

  1. bookbabie says:

    It’s been a pleasure knowing you too. Sometimes I wish I could gather my blogging friends together out on the deck on a starry summer night and just hang out and talk. But I guess that’s what we’re doing in a way isn’t it? You know we’ll be with you in spirit during the race. When you hit that wall and you think you’re not going to make it listen closely and you’ll hear us yelling, “Run K run!”

  2. You inspire me Kspin!

    Seriously . . .

    Way to put your mind to something, set out and actually accomplish it!

    I should aim to do that more! 🙂

  3. Hey! You will do great! And it sounds like everything will be taken care of on the homefront. Chick flicks…snort 🙂

  4. I agree with you, blogging is much better than keeping a journal. I’m so glad that your MIL is there and it’s taken a bit of weight off your shoulders. I’m so excited for you! Like the other commenters, you inspire me 🙂

  5. kspin says:

    I glanced at my comments before I left for Girl Scouts tonight and I seriously got all choked up! I feel so much better about the race knowing that I have you all rooting for me!

    I think bb is right, it would be amazing to get all of you wonderful women together and just talk. Who knows?…maybe someday we will. 🙂

  6. sleepyjane says:

    I know you’ll do great!! Good luck and we can’t wait to hear all about it. **hugs**

  7. Maxxy says:

    I’m a little slow, and things haven’t been good recently, so are you doing a full 26 mile marathon ?? I’ll be with you in spirit, but I’ll be buggered if I’m even gonna think about running 1/2 mile, let alone 26 !!! LMAO….

  8. It is better than a journal. I am amazed by anyone who can do a marathon. That’s just so cool. And inspiring.

    And, I hate to leave this here, but I don’t have your email. We are doing a mid-week check-in for the Let’s Get Fit challenge. It includes a little contest with a prize. Come on by…
    http://sistersofadifferentorder.blogspot.com/2008/04/early-8-week-check-in.html

  9. kspin says:

    As always, thanks Sleepy for your words.

    26.2 Maxxy! Can’t forget the point 2! :)I’m glad you’ll be there in spirit!

    Sis HB, perfect place to leave your challenge! I’m happy to have you here! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

