Pretty Things For You…

When I am at my worst or lowest, the only thing that really seems to help is to do something positive for others. As I was sulking this morning and checking up on my blogging friends, I ran across this post on Fastlane’s blog about paying it forward. It was just what I needed to get my mind out of the not so great place it has been in lately.

I was lucky enough to be the third commenter and now get to have some fun! I’m going to make homemade gifts for the first three people who not only comment, but also agree to give something or do something nice for three more people, thus the pay it forward idea.

Fastlane got the idea from Emily’s blog and I think she gave herself a 6 month limit to complete her homemade items because she is knitting them. I don’t think it will take me nearly that long for my projects, but I’ll just say you will get you items in less than 6 months. (just to be safe)

I thought that I would make some aprons with colors and prints like the ones pictured above. I have been wanting to start another sewing project and I am excited to get started. Like I said, my reasons are a little selfish; I need a distraction right now and I can’t think of a better or more rewarding way than this!

If you like this idea, or just want to get a cute apron from me then comment quick! Maybe I’ll make a few extras for a later giveaway too. Let us know what you do when you pay it forward as well. I love to hear what other people are doing!

Happy Thursday to all of you and good luck!

This entry was posted in contests, cooking, crafts, life, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pretty Things For You…

  1. Kemi says:

    I could TOTALLY get behind this challenge. (And the cute apron isn’t even the reason why. Well, not totally… LOL)

    I know of several things I could do to pay it forward, so I will do them and report back. I can’t guarantee that all of my nice things will be handmade, but I will commit to doing at least one.

    I think that doing nice things for others is one of the fastest, most sure ways to make yourself feel better. It’s a pretty good trick. 😉

  2. Karin A says:

    I would love a cute apron from you! Thank you.

  3. sleepyjane says:

    Whoo-Hoo!!! I’m the third!! 🙂 I want in!!

  4. sleepyjane says:

    PS Will do a ‘Pay it forward’ post today. 🙂

  5. Pingback: So it was a bust. But… « SleepyJane’s

  6. What a great idea! I am not a very crafty person, but I am sure I could come up with something.

  7. kspin says:

    I’m so glad you all are going to do this! Running, I’ll do a fourth apron just for you if you want to join. What’s one more, right? 🙂

    Thanks everyone!

  8. Karin A says:

    Well, I could write you and 2 other people letters! or send you cards during the year…..Hmmmm. Or I could give away stuff. Like CDS or books or VHS tapes (new)….have a contest.

    What do you want me to do?

  9. kspin says:

    All of the ideas are great Karin! You could always do three different things…thanks again!

  10. That is such a wonderful idea! Those aprons are lovely 🙂 Good luck to the first 3 commenters!

  11. Angela says:

    Those are very pretty aprons! I love the victorian prints!

  12. Ann says:

    LOVE that pattern! My mother-in-law bought me a sewing machine bc she wanted to do some sewing during one of her visits — and she probably thought I might use it as well. What she didn’t know is that I had to take sewing in Jr. High – and that I got a D! The only D to ever mar this otherwise sub-4.0 student’s report card. I am totally awe inspired by those who can sew, so, my hats are OFF to you, girl! 🙂

  13. andrea says:

    What a great idea!!
    a.

  14. Pingback: 3.09 @ work (10:04) « Runnin’ Ragged

  15. Kemi says:

    Checking in to report my first “Pay-It-Forward” action:

    My son’s class went on a field trip to the planetarium, and they had the chance to see an IMAX movie while they were there, but there was a $5 additional fee required. I donated $21.50, the difference needed to allowe his whole class to see the film. (They LOVED it, by the way.)

  16. kspin says:

    Ann-I’m not surprised one bit that you were a straight A student. You seem like an overachiever. 😉 I’m willing to barter my sewing projects for cheesecake…just fyi!

    Kemi-How cool of you to do that for your son’s class! Love that you thought of the paying it forward idea. I guess that’s what it’s all about, right? 🙂

    I went and picked out my material over the weekend, so I’m hoping to pick my pattern and get the aprons started soon!

  17. Kemi says:

    I thought I’d report that I donated a large box of school supplies to a family in our neighborhood who didn’t have the means to purchase them.

    K-dude! you’re making me look bad! 😉 I finally bought material now, so aprons are on the way!!

  18. Kemi says:

    Make YOU look bad? Puh-leeze. I haven’t done something nice for someone else since the end of May. 😀

    (kidding)

    K- 🙂

Leave a Reply

