Reality Used To Be A Friend Of Mine

One week from today my cushy day job will change drastically.

I’m seriously starting to dread next Wednesday’s arrival. Instead of preparing myself physically and mentally, I sit here in front of my laptop and sulk over the changes that are to come.

There is no easy way to explain my situation without sounding like a spoiled child, but maybe someone out there will take pity on me anyway. Not that I deserve pity. Actually, I probably deserve a good kick in the rear! I am a spoiled and pampered SAHM (not pampered and spoiled in the way you are thinking), but nonetheless I have it pretty good. Or soon it will be had it pretty good…

You see Jspin has a new job. A real 8 to 5, has to be in the office Monday through Friday, real job. It’s been a long time since we I have had to conform to schedules around here and I’m starting to realize that my job is going to get 75% harder come next week.

No more sleeping in and talking hubby into taking kids to school so I can run anyway. No more leaving sleeping baby at home with his dad while I run to the store or school. Goodbye to the extra computer and huge monitor that has looked so nice in my office and has kept Jspin and I from having to fight over pc time. Goodbye to having lunches together. Goodbye to jumping in the shower whenever I feel like it, knowing if a major catastrophe occurs, or a cartoon channel needs to be changed (or a poopy diaper), someone will be available to take care of it.

I will miss running over to _________’s real quick, or saying things like “can you help me get ________ out of the attic” or “hey, while you are upstairs taking a potty break, can you bring down all of the garbages?” J, however, will probably not miss all of my demands requests. His future employer should be very happy he will not be here as well! You can’t blame me though. Who wouldn’t be tempted to take advantage of the situation sometimes? (I think that my husband secretly liked to be distracted from work, after all, it is work!)

A little while ago I wrote this post about how it was nice to have my domain back to myself while my husband was on a business trip. Can you say JINX?? I do remember that it didn’t take long for me to stop whining and start getting into a pretty good routine, so I’m not too worried that I won’t be able to pull myself out of this Coldplay listening, laptop staring, solo-cleaning-dreading mood that I have been in all week. And the fact that I will have Jspin to myself (and our kids of course) for the next week before he starts the dreaded (only by me) job, is something that I am actually really looking forward to!

Well, here’s to change and having to grow up! Cheers!

p.s. If you tell me the artist of the song I stole the title from I will automatically think of you as a much cooler person…or something.

This entry was posted in family, life, love, music, random, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Reality Used To Be A Friend Of Mine

  1. sistersassy says:

    I get no cool points. I thought about googling it, but figured that’d be cheating.

    Good luck to the new transition. I bet you’ll miss Jspin. Just be sure to “be a little gay and little more interesting for him” LOL!!

    Take care!

  2. Ann says:

    Ugh, change is so difficult, isn’t it? Especially when it involves a curtailing of your freedom, and this one does – to a certain extent. I think the hub is going to have to hire you a personal assistant – a Pspin!! šŸ™‚

  3. Kemi says:

    I just went through this. Trust me when I say, it won’t be as bad as you thought. I have done more around the house in six weeks than I accomplished during the combined 3 1/2 years prior.

    Although my husband never did any of the things yours does… all he’d do was yell at me from his spot on the couch to say that one of the kids (who were no less than six inches from him) needed to be disciplined or have their diaper changed.

  4. Kemi says:

    Oh yeah… so I forgot to tell you “good luck”. You’ll be great. Just take things one day at a time and let everyone adjust. Don’t be surprised if it takes a few weeks to get the hang of things.

  5. Aww, I’m sure you’ll miss him. Good luck with the new transition. I’m sure you’ll get the hang of things soon šŸ™‚

  6. kspin says:

    Sassy-I already think you are cool so you had nothing to prove…I have no idea what you mean with the rest of your comment? I’m lost!

    Ann-You nailed it with the word freedom. I think this is exactly what I have been dreading! And I may just be on the look out for a Pspin! šŸ˜‰

    Kemi-I know I’ll be 100% more productive because it will now show poorly on me if I’m the only one home and have no one else to blame things on! And I really can’t have that, it’s SO not in my nature! Thank you for the encouragement!

    Sandy-It will be nice to miss him. We see each other WAY too much right now! lol! Maybe we will pay more attention to each other after a while…

  7. sleepyjane says:

    I also thought about googling it. šŸ™‚ But I didn’t. If it’s not alternative or rock I most probably haven’t heard of the artist anyway.

    I’m sorry you’re goin to have to completely change your routine. It IS hard, so I completely feel for you. šŸ™‚

    **HUGS**

  8. Sister Sassy says:

    Oh, lol! I was referencing that “Good Wife/Slave” post I did on Saturday. Since Jspin will be out of the house you’ll need to make sure he doesn’t trip on toys when he comes in and yadayadayada. I’m particularly bad at the toy part.

  9. I can totally see how you’re gonna miss that.

    The Silent Husband has a little flexibility with work, but has to be in the office most days.

    It is VERY nice when he’s here though.

    Best of luck! Will be thinking about you!

  10. I am so bad at songs, so I am not even going to try on that.

    But, changes are hard, no matter what. And it does sound like you had it good. Hang in there!

  11. kspin says:

    What?! I can’t believe no one knows this song! Actually, I can. I am kind of a music freak remember? I’ll use it for the song of the day today if I can find it, that is! šŸ™‚ I think I used to listen to it in 1991? or 92? LONG ago anyway!

    Sleepy-You are just too young to remember! lol! šŸ˜‰ I think you were 4 when this came out!

    Sassy-Oh, yeah. duh! šŸ™‚ Too funny! I loved that post too!

    Rambling-I’m going to miss it for sure! I will have the laptop to myself most of the day though… šŸ™‚

    Fastlane-Hopefully it will all be good changes! Crossing my fingers!

  12. bookbabie says:

    Reality used to be a friend of mine
    Reality used to be a friend of mine
    Maybe why? is the question thats on you mind
    But reality used to be a friend of mine

    PM Dawn (I have no problem with cheating, thank you google!) Hope you adjust and enjoy the new job (and make lots of $$) šŸ™‚

  13. kspin says:

    Bookbabie-For a second there I really thought you were quoting the lyrics from memory! Even though you weren’t it still made my day!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

