Poolside Ponderings And Philosophies

Never has it taken me so long to finish a book. Well. . .that’s not entirely true.

There are probably quite a few that I have started to read and either struggled to finish because they were super confusing and odd (One Hundred Years Of Solitude for example) or I would make it through a couple of chapters before I would deem them too lame to finish. (namely spy books off Jspin’s nightstand)

The book I’m reading now is actually one that I really want to finish and for various reasons it’s taking forever! I’m still reading Eat Love Pray by Elizabeth Gilbert. The one that my husband bought for me when I left for Salt Lake to run the marathon. (well over a month ago)

I had only made it completely through the first ‘book’ (the book is divided into three sections corresponding with the places she is visiting) and was now in the middle of the second book, when I got a chance to have an overnight retreat with some of my girlfriends. I had planned on sitting by the pool and reading all afternoon, but what I failed to take into consideration was the fact that all four of us moms rarely get a break, let alone unlimited adult talking time, so for the whole first day we sat by the pool and gabbed. Well, we did lounge on comfy rafts and gab in the pool too…

We stayed out by the pool until the sun set and then went here for some tasty food. Without kids. At 9pm. That is SO late for me. (now you all know what a dork I am!) But seriously, it was so novel. It was funny to sit at the restaurant and see how the ‘other ones’ live. You know, the ones who don’t have little kids at home to wake them up at 6am, or who don’t have to worry about figuring in diapers in their weekly budgets so they can afford to be wearing their designer clothes, and the ones who can drive really pretty two-door cars and it’s actually practical for them. (sorry, I was having a moment there) Anyway, it was a fun day, great night and then we all went back to the hotel after dinner and totally crashed. At like 11:30. (tired moms, remember?!)

While my plan was to sleep in the next morning, my internal clock woke me up at 6:30 am. I did force myself to fall back to sleep only to wake up again at 6:39. As comfy as the bed was, I got up, put on some shorts and a t-shirt, grabbed my book and headed to the pool to do some reading.

The sun was already up and there were only a handful of people out in the pool area. I’m thinking that it was probably about 70 degrees because of the lack of goose-bumps on my legs. (I know, I’m a big baby) I snuggled into one of the super cushy pool chairs and sat for a few minutes just soaking in the scenery and enjoying the quiet.

My two weeks prior to this getaway were anything but relaxing, so I was trying to savor every single second of my morning. I knew I had at least two hours to myself before my friends wanted to meet up and I was now grateful that I had in fact not slept in. It was a beautiful Sunday morning and though I had a lot going on inside my little head, I did feel more at peace than I had in a very long time. I pulled out my book and started to read.

Now I need to preface a little here. This book totally wigged me out when I first started reading it. I had deja-vu throughout the entire first third of the book. At first I thought maybe I had read some of it at a book store, which is very likely, but as I kept reading I could almost predict what was going to happen next, and there were a few times that I thought of the words before I read them.

I was positive that I had not read this book before, so you can see how disconcerting this could be for me. Couple that with the fact that the author is describing, in detail, all of the feelings she is experiencing as she goes through a painful divorce, starts and ends another relationship and then decided to take off for a year and try to find herself again. Nothing similar to my own life at all. (except for the part where she wants to go to Bali… *sigh* )

It was weird to tell Jspin how much I was connecting with this book when there was such a lack of similarities in the author’s life and my own. I had to remind him that HE was the one who picked the book out, so he needed to stop worrying that I was trying to hint at something. I can tell that personality-wise Elizabeth Gilbert and I have a lot in common and I found myself really wanting to do a whole lot more yoga as I read this book.

To be continued…

This entry was posted in life, love, photography, random, thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Poolside Ponderings And Philosophies

  1. sleepyjane says:

    Oooh. That sounds delish. Lounging by the pool, reading a book. Mmm. 🙂

    K-I wish I could do it more often! Once a month would be nice…

  2. That sounds like a wonderful break. I am jealous…I love to read but have has so little time.

    K-me neither! that’s why it takes me forever! 🙂

  3. Read it. Can’t wait to see what you think about it! 🙂

  4. kspin says:

    I finished the book over the weekend and so I’ll be updating this post very soon…

    If you’ve read it let me know what you thought too! 🙂

  5. It’s fun to get away sometimes and pretend to be one of those people that don’t have kids (and the financial responsibilities that goes with it, etc).

    I love to read, but find that I have more time to listen to books on CD during my daily commute or sometimes when I work out, then to actually grab a book and read it (but on occasion I do that too). I’ll have to check and see if that one is available on CD!

    Beautiful pic!

    K-Thanks! I should look into getting more audio books. Maybe my house would be a lot cleaner if I could listen and work at the same time. I don’t think I could listen while I ran though. Love my music too much! 🙂

  6. Found the book on Audible.com. After reading the reviews I am curious to hear yours.

Leave a Reply

