Home Sweet Parent’s Home

Wow, it’s been so long I hardly remember how to write anymore.

This last weekend was the official start of my summer vacation. I met my family in Zion’s National Park in southern Utah and spent two days swimming and playing, but most importantly visiting and catching up with my family. I don’t think I went to sleep before 2am either night. This is the norm for my sisters and I, but this year my brothers were right there with us. I guess we’ve all finally grown up!

To get to the house where we were staying we had to drive through the entire park and then it was still another 5 miles further. We were running late (as usual) and ended up driving Zions at 1am. While I was definitely tired after driving all day, the canyon at night was one of my favorite parts of the trip.

The kids were asleep, we were driving slow under a full moon and the scenery was breathtaking, even in the dark. The tops of the mountains looked almost snow-capped in the moonlight, and all of the rock formations had a silvery glow. It wasn’t a long drive, but we saw three shooting stars which I always think of as good luck, and who can’t use some of that?

Now Jspin is back in Arizona, the kids and I are at my parents (who do NOT have Internet access), and I’m now officially on vacation. Or as much of a vacation you can have being a single mom with three kids. Luckily all of the cousins here live within minutes of my mom, so everyday has been constant playtime for my kids.

We will be here for another 5 weeks and though it’s been great so far, not being able to blog or read blogs has been a little tougher than I thought. I’m having serious with-drawl. If anyone knows of a coffee shop with free wi fi and daycare let me know! 🙂

Now that we are unpacked and settled I will hopefully find a way to update more often. My husband may have to take on some of the writing duties again, so I hope you are all up for some different perspective as well as plenty of silliness.

Before starting this vacation I was worrying that 6 weeks would be too long for my kids to be away from their dad and their friends. I know that Jspin will be joining us on our adventure to Oregon in July, but my kids are quite attached to that dad of theirs so I may have some rough moments as I’m sure there will be some breakdowns the more they start to miss him. Hopefully with all my family here I will be able to distract them.

For my run yesterday, I went past my elementary school and friends houses and down many familiar streets. I love wandering through the old neighborhood and seeing the same sights but with adult eyes now. Nothing quite looks the same, but the feeling of safety and comfort is exactly how I remember it.

As I was finishing up my run I made my way up my parent’s long driveway. I had some Jack Johnson playing and could see all three of my kids happily swinging in the shade. As I slowly made my way over to them I could feel all of the stresses slip away and I knew that this would indeed be a great summer…

 

 

This entry was posted in family, life, love, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Home Sweet Parent’s Home

  1. Ann says:

    Wow – NO internet access? On one, good. On the other, insanity. How will you survive? No really, you will. But man, it’s tough without the internet. I go on vacay in July, and my little lappytoppy is joining me. I know – LOSER.

  2. Where ya been, K-Spin? Summer must be treating you right! 🙂

  3. No internet access is a REAL vacation 🙂 Sounds like summer is starting of swimmingly!

  4. How dare you just take off and leave us with nothing to read, huh??? Who said you are allowed to have fun? Vacation, what is that? Geesh, the nerve of some people!

    Ha ha…just kidding 😉 …have a great time!!!

  5. bookbabie says:

    Sounds like your summer is off to a great start, have fun and don’t forget the sunscreen!

  6. kspin says:

    Ann-Everyday gets a little easier but sometimes, like last night, I just want to pull my hair out and scream! I’m glad you are taking your laptop so that I can read up on your vacation. So happy to see you while I am away, reminds me of home. 🙂

    Rambling-I’ll try not to be such a stranger…thanks for remembering I exist!

    Sandy-It does feel like vacation, though I feel like I’m missing out on news from my friends. Don’t worry, I’m checking blogs every chance I get!

    Running-Lol! I know! I really wanted to send off an “I’ll be back soon” post, but packing for 6 weeks was a nightmare! Still running though! 😉

    Bookbabie-Thanks! Without constant internet I’m finding more time to read. I’m going to have to take a closer look at your reading lists!

  7. Andie says:

    Love the last line…that’s what I’m hoping for too!
    a.

    P.S I’m just about ready to have my .com up so I took down the typad acct…I’ll let you know when I’m back up!

  8. Autumn says:

    Your kiddos are GORGEOUS!!! I don’t think i have ever seen a pic of them before???

    Come see me when you get the chance, tagged ya for something!

  9. kspin says:

    Andie-Yes, please let me know when you are back up. I would be so sad if you disappeared! 🙂 Hope you are getting the summer you were hoping for.

    Autumn-Awww, thanks! For the nice comment and the tag! Checking it out now!

Leave a Reply

