Froggy Friends

Now that I have been able to purge those thoughts that have been trying to fight their way out of me, it seems I now have room for regular life substance…feels good.

Thanks to all of you who have emailed, commented or graced my humble blog with your visits! I am forever grateful to you all, and am now in your debt indefinitely. I would not have made it through the last few months without the help and support that I was blessed with and I won’t forget it.

I thought it was time to talk about one of my many favorite vacation moments, or FVM’s as I will now refer to them in future posts. I should have thought of this for my earlier vacation updates like this one  or this one. This particular moment was quite the unexpected surprise. We had stopped at this tourist trap place of interest that our guidebook had suggested where you could drive your vehicle through a tree. I didn’t think our van would fit, but it did…barely.

After all three of the caravaning vehicles had driven through the tree and all of us took about 100 pictures each, we wandered down to a big pond/tiny lake to give the kids a little more time out of the car before we continued our drive into Oregon. As we approached the water, tons of baby frogs would scatter away from us.

They were so little and adorable, that of course we had to try and catch them! Some of them were so young that they still even had a bit of their tadpole tails left. All 17 of us were way more entertained with the baby frogs than the whole big tree hoo-haw. (or was just me?) I don’t know if it was just watching the kids so intent in their pursuit, or hearing them squeal when they would actually catch one, but it was hard to get everyone to leave the bank and head back to the cars.

I find it a little ironic that the biggest attraction for us in Leggett California, a place where hundreds visit, was a bit of wildlife back behind the souvenier shop. Isn’t that how it goes though?

I have some wildlife of my own now too! When I came home last night, there were three of these big boys on my front porch. I ran inside to get my camera and when I walked out, instead of hopping away, they turned away from me and hid their faces in the wall.

It reminded me of young kids that think that covering their eyes is the same as hiding…”nope, can’t see you now.”  So. dang. cute.

This entry was posted in humor, kids, life, photography, random, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Froggy Friends

  1. Nicole says:

    Man — that WAS a tight squeeze. Very cool.
    Love the frog pics. (I was the kid who was a great frog-catcher and was thrilled when they let us do this at school one day during third grade. I found out, however, that these frogs were to become dissection candidates for the eight-grade science class and I systematically went about RELEASING ALL OF THEM. My mother was proud but the nuns were none too amused.)

    k-Sadly there are tons of squished frogs all over the roads here at this time of year. I bet Ann has them around too. Very sad.
    *Didn’t know you were a Catholic school girl…you could swap nun stories with my husband! 😉

  2. Cathy says:

    Lol, kids will be kids. My 14th-month old little girl these days raises her foot and makes me and my husband smell it.

    Happy WW!

    K-Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 14 months is such a fun age! She sounds like she has a great little personality!

  3. Gina says:

    I think that drive thru tree is from Klamath.,if I’m not mistaken, I’m just 18 minutes drive from there but Never been there..at least now I got the idea what it looks like. Thanks for posting

    K-I think it is close to that. You really should go. It’s not so much that the trees are so huge, but that area is so green and dense too. Beautiful! Welcome btw and happy WW!

  4. Aren’t those trees amazing? I went to Muir Woods, once in Northern CA. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced anything quite like that. The enormity of the trees just take your breath away . . .:)

    K-I had no idea how amazing the Redwoods would be and how small I would feel. I was in awe.

  5. Those trees are pretty cool! I can’t imagine how strange it must feel to drive through one 🙂

    Ack, frogs! I’m such a wuss.

    K-I love the frogs…don’t think I would pick one up, but still love them!

  6. mansuetude says:

    i want to live in a tree! Not just drive through. But that frog, its like you sent him in the corner for a bit of a punishment down time. You might be the next dr. doolittle?

    K-or maybe I’m just that scary! 😉 thanks for the visit!

Leave a Reply

