Mini-Break

Thanks to a nice employer providing us somewhere to stay and friends who like our kids enough to take them overnight, Jspin and I were able to have a short little break from everyday life. It wasn’t anywhere exciting or extravagant, but nonetheless, it was time alone and we have not had that for a very long time. In fact, the last time we left any kids overnight we had one less kid and it was over three years ago.

We were only away for a little over 24 hours, but It was just enough time to unwind, unplug and read while laying next to the pool. (my favorite kind of reading) At night we walked along the river, gambled for about 10 minutes (not my favorite thing) and ate a nice dinner on a patio with twinkling party lights and misters. (a must have in AZ or NV this time of year).

I was able to finish the final book in the Twilight series, Breaking Dawn, and have to say that I absolutely loved how it ended. I enjoyed all four books immensely (as I’m sure I’ve mentioned here before) but book two was really hard for me to read for some reason. Well, not for some reason, it was just a little too depressing for me at the time that I read it.

I could write a whole book about how much I loved these books, but I will spare you all this time and just suggest that yes, even though they were written for teenage girls, they are just pure entertainment! Jspin is actually on the final book now and is having a hard time putting it down. And if you have seen J, you know he’s nothing close to a young female. Okay, losing focus…back to weekend.

It seems that J and I have been talking nonstop about everything anyone could ever talk about for months now, especially when we are apart for 6 weeks, so I was surprised that we were both rather quiet during the 4 hour drive and the rest of the day. I guess because we didn’t have to do anything or go anywhere we both decided just to lay low and relax. And that’s pretty much all we did.

I wish I had more exciting things to speak of, but our non-adventurous break from reality was pretty freaking exciting to us! This is what happens when you have been married for ten years and have three young children; an office party/getaway weekend in Laughlin sounds really good. . .and I think I’m just fine with that.

This entry was posted in life, love, photography, random, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mini-Break

  1. Nicole says:

    Sounds like an awesome time — and like you needed it. Good for you! 🙂

    K-yes, and YES! sounds like you could use a getaway, or at least a massage after all the home projects! 🙂

  2. I am so glad that you had that time. Take some more 🙂

    K-Thanks! I would love to take more if I can find another weekend w/out obligations…not likely for a while!

  3. Aww, so glad you had some alone time with each other 🙂 Sounds like it was lovely.

    Reading poolside is the best!

    I really need to check out this Twilight series everyone is raving about.

    K-It was a great little getaway, and YES you should read them! Then it will give me somone else to discuss them with! 🙂

  4. Sister Sassy says:

    When Jim and I went to Jamaica, it was while we were in grad school and working… we barely talked for the first three days-we just destressed.

    Good for you getting away!

    K-Jamaica sounds fun! Maybe next time… 🙂

  5. Andie says:

    Um, time alone with the hubs? Hell ya that’s exciting!!
    Soooo glad you guys had that. I’m getting anxious for the kids to get back to school so we can start our lunch dates again, lol.
    😉
    a.

    K-You are making me miss the time that J would work from home. Loved having lunch with him everyday! Enjoy your dates!

Leave a Reply

