Summer Storms

Ever try to photograph lightning? Not easy my friends…

Well it wasn’t for me anyway, even with lightning striking every few seconds. I took thousands a bunch and only caught it twice. It’s been a stormy week here in the desert and for once I have really enjoyed the weather. We’ve had thunderstorms and rain most nights, and then we wake up to blue skies and amazing clouds…

I believe that if one always looked at the skies, one would end up with wings.

Gustave Flaubert

This entry was posted in art, life, photography, random, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Summer Storms

  1. firefox says:

    Love the sky..beautiful indeed.

    K-Glad you liked it. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. jamie says:

    Amazing photos, well worth the effort.

    K-Thanks so much!

  3. Andie says:

    Mother nature ROCKS! Amazing photos.
    a.

    K-Thanks! Seems like I can’t get enough sky pictures lately. šŸ™‚

  4. Lightning is one the things on my list. I tried when I was a young teen- I tried setting my camera with the aperature (sp?) open for an extended period… but I guess it never struck during that time.

    Your shot is super cool, great colors! I’m jealous

    K-Aww, thanks! I’m glad I caught the colors. It was getting pretty dark, but I’m really pleased with how it turned out. (even with my non-manual point and shoot!) šŸ™‚

  5. sperlygirl says:

    beautiful photos!! love those storms…a good thunderstorm does wonders for the soul, yes? šŸ™‚

    K-Yes! I’ve been drinking it all in… šŸ™‚

  6. we also had tons of lightening the other night. Unfortunately I was driving to work and trying not to get struck, but wishing I was at home snapping away.

    great catches!

    K-I had my family with me at the park, probably not a great idea, but it was far enough away! šŸ˜‰

  7. You take some really great pictures. You must have been born with a camera in your hand! šŸ˜‰

    K-lol! Oh, thank you! Started in high school and a little of college, and am just barely trying it out again. Pretty sure I won’t stop taking pictures anytime soon! šŸ™‚

  8. Kemi says:

    I am amazed by the colors in both photographs. They are so beautiful!

    When you’re through with them down there, would you mind sending some thunderstorms my direction? Thanks! šŸ˜€

    K-You got it! I’ll send them as soon as my niece and nephew’s soccer games are over! šŸ™‚

  9. Great lightening picture!! I’ve never even tried to do that.

    K-Oh, you should try…lots of fun! Love your blog btw! šŸ™‚

  10. WOW! Those are a fabulous shots! I have tried shooting lightening. I have never been successful outdoors. LOVE those fluffy clouds šŸ™‚

    K-Just take LOTS of pitures and you’ll end up with a good one eventually. That’s my trick anyway!

  11. Sleepyjane says:

    Great photos!! šŸ™‚

    K-Happy you like them!

  12. Maxxy says:

    The pics are UBER cool. Have you got any filters on for the blue sky one ?? Thats SOOOOO Blue !!! LOL. I really must learn how to use my camera properly…

    K-The trick is to take pictures on stormy or cloudy days…natural filters! So glad you liked these. I really should read my manual too, I’m sure it would help! šŸ˜‰

  13. Both are awesome pictures, no doubt! šŸ™‚

    K-Thank you!

  14. Ann says:

    Love the pics, K! We’ve had some wonderful storms lately. šŸ™‚

    K-Thanks! Now if it could just cool down 10 degrees… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

