7 Reasons I Should Be A Mess

1. It’s Monday. That fact alone qualifies…

2. Today is going on week number three of J’s unemployment.

3. I’m still rearranging and de-cluttering my room, bathroom, closets, garage, etc.

4. The temperatures here are still over 100.

5. I have nasty crickets that are sneaking into my house and making me want to hit something.

6. I’m starting my first ‘healthy eating/marathon diet prep/can’t eat any yummy stuff’ week.

7. My roots are showing and cute haircut is growing out.

But strangely, I’m not a mess.

The extra time with J is not only really nice, but we are getting around to all of the house projects that I have either put off for a while, or never dared to attempt without some serious backup. (as in babysitter/clean up after me person) I’m finally emptying rubbermaids and boxes that haven’t been touched since we packed them up two years ago. While it is causing somewhat of a scary mess, it is only a temporary mess that has already allowed 75% more garage and walk-in-closet space. Both very good things.

I think all of this craziness has made me even more acutely aware of the difference between needs and wants. Just more of that fun perspective stuff that I’m lucky enough to experience. Really though, I do feel lucky that I’m going through such a big metamorphosis all at once. It does seem like I’m building me from scratch and that I’m hand picking what I will be like. A couple of months ago and pre-therapy I don’t think I would be sane right now, let alone happy. The timing is just right.

I am so grateful to be surrounded by friends and family that are such a great source of support and strength to me and my family. And mostly, I’m grateful for healthy kids. I think I could handle almost anything knowing that my kids are well and safe.

And the rest of my frustrations? Well, pest control is spraying today, my hair will eventually look Katie Holmes-ish again, temperatures are already starting to drop and the rest of the week will be something other than Monday…

This entry was posted in cleaning bites, family, kids, life, love, photography, random, thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 7 Reasons I Should Be A Mess

  1. Sister Sassy says:

    Sounds like garage sale time! Oh how I’d long to declutter my shoebox.

    Glad you aren’t a mess 😉

    K-I know, seriously! I have been utilizing Craig’s List for some things and the rest has been donated. Thanks, I’m almost there…

  2. Morris Mama says:

    Sorry to hear about the job loss! But it DOES feel sooo good to de-clutter! Yay for fall, it’s my favorite time of year. Time to start running track again!

    K-No worries…yet! 😉 Yes, fall! I got a call about running track today in fact. Can’t wait to start! 🙂

  3. I missed hearing about J-spins unemployment too! I’m sorry to hear that–It is stressful–

    We’ve been through it–but luckily the Silent Husband ended up with a job he loved–that is much higher paying.

    I wish the same for J-Spin! 🙂

    K-Thanks! We are wishing for the same. That’s good about Silent Husband. It’s gives me some hope!

  4. sleepyjane says:

    Crossing all my fingers, toes and eyes for J! 🙂 But I’d advise that you guys just enjoy this time together. 🙂

    K-How did you sneak this one in here? Thanks for the crossies, and yes, we are enjoying the time together. A blessing in disguise, right? 🙂

  5. Andie says:

    “I think I could handle almost anything knowing that my kids are well and safe.”

    For me, that line say’s it all. Yes life can be stressful, but gawd, remember what is truly important. You are a wise woman my friend. I am so glad your doing well, that you are happy and taking lifes stresses in stride. The universe will respond accordingly, I know this from experience.

    All my love,
    a.
    K-You’re the best a. *hugs*

  6. That is a lot of stress! Awareness seems to do wonders, sometimes. The temp. would drive me crazy, alone. There is only so much of that I can take.

    K-Awareness=good. Heat=bad. Yeah, I’m ready for a break from both. The temps and the stress!

  7. Jan Parrish says:

    Great shots. Happy WW! Come link with me.

    K-Thanks. I’ll come check it out…

  8. The artist who did your kids’ face paintings is much better than the one that did mine! Thanks for stopping by today! Happy WW!

    K-The artists were just kids, but I thought they did pretty good! Come by anytime!

  9. Kim says:

    cute picture of your girls. they are starting to look more alike. also love your lightning pictures. i never did catch a bolt of lightning that night.

    K-Did you catch one tonight? I had to cancel track night because of it! 😉 I love all of your sky pictures…

Leave a Reply

