Simply The Best

As you know, I’ve been talking a lot about simplifying and being more aware of where and how I spend my time. While I was in Utah I had very limited time to blog, email or do anything online. Though it was very frustrating at times, I started to realize how much time I had been devoting to above said activities.

I learned that not only could I survive hours, but days away from my internet, and “free-time” was spent doing things that I thought I didn’t have time to do. (namely reading, meditating, thinking, etc.)

After I got back from my 6 week break away from home, I tried to conscientiously cut back on my time in front of a screen (after I spent a little time catching up reading blogs and emails of course). I began to acquire more time to spend on projects I had been wanting to do. It started out slowly with clearing out my garage and eventually morphed into me pulling out every item out of every crevice and going through it.

Needless to say, this has been a huge month-long process. Eliminating clothes that don’t fit, decorating items that don’t work in this house,  (we have been here one year) baby items I no longer need, (hopefully…with my track record you never know) and other millions of miscellaneous items that are no longer needed or wanted.

During this purging, I somehow got my decorating motivation back. I don’t know if I lost it because of moving so much (3 times in 5 years) and that after painting, remodeling, and decorating all of those other houses I just needed a break. Not to mention all of the packing/unpacking that all those moves required. Or maybe I was just so overwhelmed with the amount of stuff that we had accumulated over the years that I didn’t even know where to start!

Whatever my hesitation was before, it’s long gone now. Poor J first lost his job and then had to be my slave for three weeks while I frantically tried to catch up on a year’s worth of house neglect. He survived and is just as pleased as I am with the results. I’m sure now he is even more anxious to start that new job Monday morning. . .he’ll finally get a break from me!

I also put together a little crafting/sewing area in my bedroom now so I have my own little creative space. I was so inspired after setting my desk up, that I designed these cards below all by myself. No copying other card ideas or such. This is very rare, so I was quite pleased with my simple “masculine” card. There’s that word again. Seems to be my theme right now. (the above cards were made by more crafty women who I happen to like a whole lot)

I like the idea of seeking out ‘the best’ in everything as well. Preparing the best foods for my family, finding the best music/movies for our entertainment, striving to make my home the best environment I can and surrounding myself with people who bring out the best in me.

Like I said, this month’s card swap was masculine cards, and while some of my friends spoke about the difficulty of trying to make a card without fluff and bling, I kind of liked the change. I have stripped away most of the extra “fluff” in my daily life and can’t describe the kind of difference it is making, only that it’s a very positive one that I want to continue…

The simple things are often the truest. ~Richard Bach

This entry was posted in family, life, love, photography, random, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Simply The Best

  1. sleepyjane says:

    I love the idea of decluttering and simplifying! The cards are also so gorgeous! 🙂

    K-Now I just need your J to build me a cool desk like yours and I’d be set! 😉

  2. Kemi says:

    I am striving to simplify, as well, but it is proving to be a very difficult and loooooong process.

    Your post motivated me to sign off and get busy. Thanks for that, I think. 😉

    K-Believe me, I still have a long way to go, but glad I could help! 🙂 Good luck to you…

  3. Ann says:

    Boy do I HEAR you on spending less time in front of the computer! WOW.

    K-It sounds like hiking is helping with that! 😉

  4. I’m feeling the need to unplug as well. I really need to donate a heaping pile of stuff to charity as well. It really is liberating to purge and declutter

    K-There’s such an emotional purging that happens too. SO nice!

  5. Simplifying and decluttering is such a great idea! I need to clean out the kids’ toys before Christmas (and before we get the new playroom built).

    Awesome cards!

    K-Big projects seem to spark the cleaning bug with me too. Can’t wait to see how your playroom turns out! I’ll be checking in… 🙂

  6. Nicole says:

    Love the cards. They’re very cool.

    Totally respect your efforts to take charge. Trying to get a handle on all your stuff can be the worst job ever. Kudos to you for taking it on.

    K-It can be and was the worst for some of the cleaning, but I will keep on truckin’! Glad you like the cards.

  7. Mommy On Top says:

    I need some decluttering to do myself. I admire your determination. 🙂

    K-Thank you. It’s been a long time coming, and I still have lots to do! Thanks for the visit!

  8. I love those hearts. Great picture

    K-Thanks! My daughter is starting to hunt for them now too.

  9. Lisa says:

    Wow. That is really neat. I had no idea one could find so many rocks in the shape of a heart. Great Idea!

    K-I just recently started looking and it’s amazing how quickly I find them…when I remember to look! 😉 Thanks!

  10. Pingback: A {Not So} Spooky Sneak Peek « Kspin’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

