Crossroads


My sister and I were having a debate early this year about the use of photoshop, realism, etc. in photography. I was showing her a photo that I was jealous of admiring, and she thought that it looked too perfect. Too perfect? Isn’t perfection what we all search for when shooting photos? (and everything else in life for that matter?) I would love to create photos that I never have to crop or tweak! I always think of it as a major feat when I find such a shot. It is rare, but I do have a few.

This is a photo I downloaded in May and then promptly forgot about because there were “better” shots of that sunset that were free of obstruction. Last night I ran across it once again as I was shuffling through all the sky photos I have been accumulating, looking for a perfect Skywatch Friday shot.

Though this one is far from perfect, I think the flaws and obstructions actually add to the beauty. Maybe it’s the angle at which the wires are crossed, or maybe it’s just the familiarity of the landscape, but something about it just feels right…

This entry was posted in photography, random, skywatch friday, thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Crossroads

  1. Kim says:

    I’m glad you were having that debate because it is something that has bugging me a lot lately. I appreciate that people (and sometimes me) want to “enhance” their photos but sometimes I feel like more time is spent enhancing than actually trying to capture a good image from the beginning. Then it almost seems “fake” and too perfect like you were talking about. Nowadays, anyone can create something…which can be good and bad. I’d like a little more authenticity myself but there is definitely a place for help.

    K-I agree. I love that I can touch up photos that will be in a photo album or scrapbook, but I love when I can capture something exactly as I see it. There are some photos out there with incredible effect though, so I really do appreciate when it is done well and in more of an artsy way.

  2. Kim says:

    And by the way, I love your photo “as is”.

  3. Kim says:

    And don’t forget that you can’t fake an artistic eye.

    K-You definitely have that and I love seeing your work…the fun and the serious! 🙂

  4. I do like it! I have one of the clouds that looks just like a face blowing the wind. Unfortunately, I only had my phone camera available, so I am going to need to zoom and crop for anyone to see what I saw.

    K-What? You don’t carry a camera around everywhere you go?! 😉 You should post or email your shot. I would love to see it! Or better yet, put it up for Skywatch…

  5. projectchronix says:

    Great catch on the photo. Doesn’t need any work.

    K-Thank you, and thanks for stopping by…

  6. Morris Mama says:

    I feel like it can go both ways. Taking photos is an art form of course. But working in photoshop is another form of art, I think. Have you ever had a photo dull as could be and then you enhance it and it then becomes lovely and inspiring? Doesn’t matter where it came from as long as it’s an expression of what we feel, right? It can still be artistic even if it wasn’t like that to begin with. Sometimes though, photos are perfect just the way they are. I love yours. I might sound like a dweeby art nerd but the cables crossing and the stop sign that indicates an intersection is called juxtaposition and that can really be a hard thing to do in photography. I dig it.

    K-Thanks lady! I agree with ps being an art for sure! That is one art form I have not figured out! Most of my post was more about wanting or expecting perfection in life and how freeing it can be when we embrace our imperfections. Just something that’s been on my mind… Thanks for the comments!

  7. Lisa says:

    This is one fine shot – I especially like the silhouette of the stop sign. Great SWF photo.

    K-Thanks Lisa. I’m really liking the SW Fridays. So many beautiful pictures there! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  8. I think you can definitely overdo stuff in photoshop. Some of those imperfections are what makes the photo so perfect.

    good thoughts!

    K-Or maybe I’m having ps skill envy! 😉

  9. Andie says:

    I love this photo too. It has a very “urban” feel to it. Nature and Industrialism combined. Does that make sense, lol? Any way maybe I should just say it’s pretty!! 🙂

    I too have thought about PS and “pure” photography but then I also have to consider that it takes skill to PS a photo. The photographer still has to use their “talent” to tweak. Honestly though I prefer a sooc (straight out of camera) shot. I think the world is beautiful enough without our messing with it too much.

    a.

    K-I sometimes use ps to get the shot that I “saw” when I snapped the picture, you know? Like when my camera doesn’t quite do it justice. I think I need to go back to manual shooting again! Thanks for the thoughts!

  10. Sister Sassy says:

    Skywatch seems pretty cool, I like this series. I’m too loserish to commit to things these days though 🙂

    Happy Saturday!

    K-Oh, I’m not committing to anything these days! If I feel like doing something, I do it. That’s all. You’re not a loser, you’re crazy busy like most moms I know. 🙂

  11. Arija says:

    A picture is what you make it. Often the camera cannot capture what the eye and soul see, therefore tweaking to approximate it closer to your vision I find advisable since that is what you were trying to capture in the first place. However, photoshopping it into something unrecognizeable from the original is taking artstic liberties to the extreme.
    After all that,..nice shot!

    K-I cannot agree with you more on what the eyes and soul bit. Love the phrasing too. I know exactly what you mean! Happy to have you here, btw. 🙂

  12. Momisodes says:

    I love that you posted about this. Part of me feels like some photos are just best left untouched.
    This is a lovely capture! The colors and silhouettes along the sky are beautiful 🙂

    K-Thanks Sandy. Hope you enjoyed your visitor-less weekend! 🙂

  13. Ann says:

    Love this pic, love the colors!

    K-Don’t you agree that AZ skies are the prettiest?

  14. I love it. I didn’t even notice the obstructions. The color caught my attention.

    K-Gotta love the desert skies. Oh wait, you do! 😉

Leave a Reply

