Fiery Flowers

I absolutely love stormy days.

The clouds act as a natural filter for the Earth causing all the colors to ‘pop’ out from the gray backdrop. Luckily, I found some vibrant flowers that really show off this effect. I’m not sure what kind of shrub this is, but J and I have named them fire shrubs. (so original, aren’t we?)

And because I still don’t have a fancy camera with awesome lenses and filters, this weather makes it so much easier for me to take great pictures. Seriously, most of my favorite pictures were taken on stormy days. (a great trick for any amateurs out there like me!)

We had spent this first cool day at the zoo, and as we left it was just barely beginning to rain. Thankfully it was still nice and overcast when we got into our neighborhood where these pictures were taken.

Speaking of the zoo, I think we took over 150 pictures there. I say we because I am usually the sole photographer in our house, but J kept stealing my camera from me. He was also the one who offered to pull over so I could photograph these shrubs.

Either he too is getting excited about photography, or I have him well trained…

This entry was posted in family, life, love, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fiery Flowers

  1. I love stormy days too. And I love those pictures.

    K-last year I was not a fan of rainy days, but now I look forward too them…go figure! 🙂 thanks…

  2. Nicole says:

    These photos are fantastic! I love how the flowers pop against the grays of the storm clouds.

    K-My header picture was taken on a day much like this. LOVE the storms. So glad that you like these photos too! Thanks.

  3. you’re so right about about the cloudy sky and the vibrant colors. It’s wonderful and so are those photos!

    K-I knew you would agree. Love stormy picture taking days! 😉

  4. sleepyjane says:

    Those are GORGEOUS! Wow, I really like them!

    K-Thanks! I really should find out what they are…

  5. Andie says:

    Looooourve these photos. I don’t have a fancy camera either. Just a point and shoot. I’ve found though that if you really learn what all of the buttons do, you can take pretty good pics. Also editing. That can make an ok pic, spectacular sometimes(unless your a purist, lol).

    Any way, these are perfect. Love the stormy background and the delicate pops of orange. Glad you guys had fun at the zoo. It’s one of my favorite places too.
    a.

    K-Okay, now I am WAY impressed because your photos are always awesome! I guess I have a lot to learn about my camera! 🙂 Yes, we also love the zoo and our yearly membership is well used!

  6. Sister Sassy says:

    Wow, I LOVE that first one, its beautiful! 🙂 great shots 🙂

    K-I couldn’t decide so I had to use all three. That and J loves orange. 😉

  7. Momisodes says:

    Wow! Those are some threatening skies. I love it as the backdrop to those colorful flowers 🙂

    K-They look like it, but I don’t remember it raining very hard. Storms pass quickly here I guess. I love when my friends like my photos. Makes my day, so thanks! 🙂

  8. Very very cool. I think it would take more than a cloudy sky to make me a good photographer, but I’ll keep the tip in mind!

    K-No really, try it. You just might surprise yourself!

  9. ~ Kristina ~ says:

    thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I love these photos – I think I’ve been admiring the same plant around my neighborhood and believe I saw them labeled as Birds of Paradise at Lowe’s (which confused me since they don’t look like the Birds of Paradise I usually think of…)

    K-Thanks for the comments and for giving the name of the flowers!

  10. Ann says:

    I adore the color orange. But put them against a stormy sky, even MORE gorgeous! Great pics!

    K-J loves all things orange too. Great minds? 🙂

  11. Stacy says:

    Those flowers you love so much are called Red Bird of Paradise. I didn’t used to love them as much as I do now, they are striking.

    K-Thanks for the info. I might have to plant some in my yard. Theses are nothing like the bird of paradise flowers we had in Hawaii… Still love them!

  12. Lawris says:

    Gorgeous!! Love the first flowers picture.

    K-Thanks!

  13. GORGEOUS!! I love how colors pop on cloudy days, too.

    K-Thanks! I now have this print in my guest bathroom thanks to my hubby! Love the red and orange!

Leave a Reply

