Updates And Witches…

It’s been so long that I have really written anything that I’m not sure where to start…

Actually, I should start by apologizing to all of you for just taking off without notice. There were a couple of reasons for that.  1) I wasn’t sure until the last minute that I was really going to go on my short trip  2) I wasn’t sure how much free time I would have, if any, and didn’t want to make promises to anyone that I couldn’t keep ie; seeing friends or writing here!  3) I knew some friends would worry if they knew what I was planning and why, and I hate to be fussed about!

*Witch airport*

The truth is, ever since J lost his job money has been tight (no surprise there). Being out of work for a full month will do that to you. It’s times like this when being a SAHM (stay at home mom) gets a little frustrating. I wanted to be able to help, but getting a job right this minute was not the answer…maybe soon though. However, my sisters bribed talked me into going to Utah to work for my dad and earn a little extra money during fall break.

In order to leave, I had to put some things on hold, including my 29 day challenge. At first thought I would be able to continue it while away, but being far from my little world (my pc, my crafts, gifts etc.) it just didn’t happen. In fact, while I was gone I was on the receiving end of many wonderful gifts.

*this one really pedals btw!*

Two of my sisters gave up their “working” nights so that I could work and help ease some of J’s stress. I know it doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, but I know that’s where they both earn much of their vacation and Christmas money, so this was a big deal to me. Then, my other sister agreed to drive back with me so that I wouldn’t be traveling alone again. (The drive up was much harder than the way back!) Then there was also my mom, sister and in-laws who all fed us and watched my kids while I worked. No small job there either as we stayed for 10 days! Thanks also to J for keeping our garden alive and making our house cleaner and nicer than it was when we left!

The giving challenge was on my mind for much of my trip and because of that, I was much more aware of all the giving that others were doing, and mostly for the benefit of me and my family. A great friend treated me to lunch and spent the day listening to me spout off for hours on end. (thanks L, I hope I didn’t drive you too crazy!)

My dad not only took time off of his real job so that he could keep me busy working with him, but he also stocked our food storage and freezer. My sister had to listen to my son ask over and over where his mommy was, and she also had to do the bedtime routine with 6 kids instead of her usual three.

Now that I’m back home, I’m still in awe of how much I’m given everyday. Friends who call, email or let me convince them to run or walk with me! I’m sure they don’t know how much it means to me.  I also observe these same friends giving their time and offerings to others on a daily basis. Though I know giving comes naturally to many of my friends and family, I also know how easy it is to get caught up in our own lives and forget about others.

I still have another week left of my giving challenge and have had so much fun with this, that I think I will continue it through the month of November. I haven’t had any trouble finding things to give or people to give to. It seems like the opportunities keep presenting themselves. Like the man walking away from the gas station carrying the small tank of gas. I would usually not even think of stopping, especially with my kids in the car, but right when I had the urge to stop I felt like it was okay. Weird, I know. (sorry if I’m freaking you out J. It was only 2 miles…)

I also need to thank my kids today, for making me smile all the time…even when they are ganging up on me!

*proof of the frozen north I was talking about*

Thanks to all of you who make the effort, no matter how small you think it is, to show someone else that they are loved and thought of. I promise it is appreciated, and most likely, that person will go on to do the same for someone else.

{all witch photos taken at Gardener Village in Utah}

This entry was posted in family, humor, kids, life, love, photography, thoughts, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Updates And Witches…

  1. Cresta says:

    I’m so glad you’re back! I promise next week I will be a better running/walking buddy!

    I love the witch airport!

    K-Thanks! I’m counting on you to get me out of my running slump! 😉

  2. It looks so cool!! I like the witches a lot and the airport… lol!!

    K-I should have gotten a better pic of the signs, they are great! I had to visit your blog based on the name alone…funny.

  3. Nicole says:

    Welcome back! Great shots and a very nice story to boot. 🙂

    You do know though, sometimes you have to be a RECIPIENT so that other people can do THEIR giving, right?

    K-Funny you should mention that. I was just reading this line in the tips section of the 29day challenge; “4. Be receptive and have fun. Enjoy your 29 days. And remember to stay open to receiving. Giving can’t happen without the receptors of our gifts. Good giving to you today.” I’m learning so much from this experience. It’s pretty incredible…

  4. janethesane says:

    I see you all the time on Sassy’s blog and I keep meaning to visit. Great photos! It sounds like you enjoyed your time in Utah and there was a bit of snow. That is about all the snow I like. Sometimes I really miss Utah, especially the mountains. It sounds like you were on the end of some serious giving. That’s awesome. It is hard sometimes to be humble and accepting of it, especially if you are focusing on giving to others.

    K-I think I have seen you at Sassy’s as well. Nice to finally “meet” you! Ya, two days of a trace of snow was perfect for me! And maybe a day or two for my Christmas visit. I have to say I LOVED trick or treating in 75 degrees!

  5. Andie says:

    Yeah so glad your back. And please woman don’t ever apologize for having to do something as important as you did.
    Much love,
    a.

    K-How do you do it? Make me feel strong, humble, loved and a little schooled all at once! 😉 Sure love you Andie!

  6. sleepyjane says:

    Also glad to hear that you’re back K! Missed you! I love all the pictures! 🙂 And also, it was a great thing you did so like Andie says, no need to apologise.

    K-Aww, thanks Sleepy…

  7. Momisodes says:

    You have such a wonderful family and support system 🙂 So glad to hear. Great to see you back!

    K-Yes. I. Do. Thank goodness too! We all need that support sometimes, right? 😉 Thanks for being one of my supporters!

  8. Stacy says:

    I want one! Let me borrow your pattern for the red one with black pockets? It is so darling!

    K-Patterns? Who needs patterns! jk. I’m just using these pictures for ideas, but I did find the pattern for this one here… http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?ref=sr_gallery_9&listing_id=16920078 If mine turns out at all, I’ll send it your way! 😉

  9. What a heartfelt post. Since I’m catching up in chronological order, I don’t know if the job situation has improved, but I’m happy you had this opportunity and you were so gracious in accepting giving.

    K-Well, J does have a job, though it’s all commission. Let’s just say it’s been quite the adjustment… 😉

Leave a Reply

