Getting Crafty…

Now that Halloween is behind us, I’m SO ready for other projects that don’t include costumes and candy. Unless of course you count aprons as costumes, then I’m all over it!

In fact, I was so excited to start on my aprons that I stayed up until 2am making up some patterns I’m playing with trying to find cute styles. This picture is of one that I have been calling the “shapely” apron. Jspin thinks it looks like a dress right now, but that’s sort of the idea. Don’t mind my concentrated look in the picture. It was really late and making the material look how I wanted was tricky.

I purchased this material shortly after this post, and after getting inspired looking at aprons at boutiques this last month, I’m finally getting started! (sorry to the four of you who have been waiting) It hasn’t been quite six months yet, so I don’t feel like a complete loser. . .yet!

What would help me now is to get some reader feedback here. Do you ever wear aprons? Do you prefer full or half ones? Pockets or no pockets? Do you wear them strictly for cooking? Would a crafting apron be handy?

I’m having a lot of fun with the patterns and can’t wait to see how these turn out. Here are some apron pictures I’m using for inspiration:

Love to hear what you all think!

This entry was posted in contests, cooking, crafts, family, life, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Getting Crafty…

  1. Ericka says:

    Love aprons. Keep thinking I should wear one in my classroom with a dozen pockets for scissors, glue, tape, pencil, etc…kinda like go go gadget-teacher (:lol I do prefer a full apron, with pockets. My issue is always the length of the loop at the neck. Lyndi bought a cute one the other day that somehow took up the neck slack-with the waist ties (it was for a 3 year old). Didn’t get a close look, so I’m not sure how it worked, but BRILLIANT! They look cute!

    K-I have one with the ties you are describing…very handy for my height-challenged self! 😉 Thanks for the feedback and I’ll be sure to keep the neck issues in mind while creating!

  2. Kemi says:

    Hey! I think I recognize that red and black one from Gardner Village. Am I right?

    I use aprons mostly for cooking, and I prefer full ones. I always manage to spill on myself, so the half-ones don’t work well because of that. I also love pockets– big ones that I can rest my hands in if I stop to chat for a few minutes.

    I do think half-aprons are practical when you need an extra hand. I have been known to wear one when decorating for a holiday, or cleaning the house. (The pockets are perfect for holding the cordless phone or some paper towels or little toys I find scattered through the house.)

    I just bought my daughters some deeply-discounted Halloween aprons. I wish I would have picked one up for myself. Suddenly I’m in the mood for one with tons of frills. 🙂

    K-All these apron pics are from GV. Love that place! 🙂 Now, you know you have one coming to you, so any favorite colors?

  3. I wear a full apron to cook, when I remember to put it on! Mine doesn’t have pockets (an old, but cute hand me down from my mother in law) and I sure wish it did. Oh, and it’s very bland looking, so anything other than tan is a winner in my book.

    Oh, I wish I was crafty like that, but I am sure I have mentioned that before. Have fun, but do get your rest! 😉

    K-Okay, full, pockets and not boring. I think I can handle that! I forget to put my apron on as well, but I just hung two in the kitchen so I won’t forget now! 🙂

  4. sperlygirl says:

    teaching art and painting myself – i’d love a full apron with pockets – that’s cute! can’t wait to see your designs. this one is great!
    🙂

    K-I found a really cute crafting apron from Martha Stewart, but it was only a half one. I’ll have to come up with a full, sassy version for all of my painting friends! 😉

  5. Kemi says:

    I am not at all picky. 🙂

    By the way… you are so cute! I love your hair.

    K-I’m glad you’re not picky b/c I’m not a professional seamstress…just keep that in mind! And thanks for the compliment, I finally went shorter again and am happy with it. 🙂

  6. Deanna says:

    I love that fabric! I saw your twitter today – I also have a site called the apronista, and I have listed a ton of free patterns and tutorials – there is also a forum/network thingy that you can get help or ask questions – the girls there are really nice. It looks like you have a great start tho!

    K-Thanks so much for the visit and the info! I can’t wait to check out your patterns! 🙂

  7. those are so cute, but I am such a spaz, I never wear them. If I had a cute one, I might. Maybe. If I remembered.

    K-That’s me too, I forget. It sounds like you need a cute apron! 🙂

  8. Ginny says:

    I like the fitted apron, where it kinda shows a figure, sounds dumb, but i like the style. As for what i’d like … I’d enjoy a matching apron for me and my daughter, who is 5. I don’t normally wear one to cook, but think it would be REALLY FUN and useful to have one that matched her so we could cook together.

    K-I like that idea too…matching aprons would be really cute! My daughter’s each have one that match, but I didn’t think of making one for myself. doh! 🙂 I like the more fitted one as well. Not so much of your grandma’s looking apron, right? Thanks for the visit!

  9. cathleen says:

    Yes, for sure, I wear aprons, especially when I make chocolate mousse and the beaters make the mousse fly EVERYWHERE! I prefer full aprons with a couple of pockets. Actually, I should wear a full apron or a bib when I eat…do you make adult bibs???

    K-haha! Good idea, my husband could use a bib! I’m hoping by making lots of aprons, I will be inclined to want to wear them, which I’m hoping will make me want to cook more! 😉 Maybe chocolate mousse…yum!

  10. sleepyjane says:

    I’ve never really had an apron. I don’t cook much either, but a crafting apron sounds so cool!

    K-Glad you like the craft-apron idea. Just started a really cute one this morning! 🙂 Hope you like stripes!

  11. Andie says:

    Ok, I am totally weird because you know what!? I thought the apron pattern with the white t-shirt would make a super cute dress! Like sew this “dress” just as it is in the picture. Of course it is reminiscent of those oversized t-shirts you see on the beach that have a sexy bikini pic on them. Those are baaad. But this is super cute!

    Anyway, sorry. Probably way to much coffee today. Um, aprons…love them, wear them all of the time with cooking. I also have a half one for painting. Pockets don’t really matter but you can mix and match fabrics if you put them in (love that).
    a.

    K-Lol! I know those shirts and yes they are bad! I have been looking at TONS of cute apron patterns and there are a few like you are describing that I may have to try. Thanks for the tips!

  12. Ann says:

    They are ALL just darling!!! Love that brown one…I’m a sucker for brown. 🙂

    [btw, I think you have the most awesomest aura ;)]

    K-I heart awesome auras.

  13. Sister Sassy says:

    Super cute. I wish I knew how to do stuff like that.

    K-I hope I know how too! Nothing like trial by error, right? 🙂

  14. Heather D. says:

    I LOVe the one on the lower left especially. (with red) BUt they are all very cute!!! You are so talented, KEEP IT UP!

    K-Hmm. Maybe I better order that pattern after all. It seems to be the popular one!

  15. Kim says:

    Hi K,
    I wear an apron everyday, although mine are very plain. I am a maid and would prefer a lovely print apron or something a bit funky, but it is not to be. Ma’am has very old fashioned ideas on maids’ uniforms. “They were worn by my mothers’ maid” etc. etc. I saw a lovely apron that was a black and white tea cup print with red trim, I loved it. I do have a floral prairie style apron I wear for Sunday School classes.
    Happy crafting,
    Kim.

    K-What? No happy print aprons? We must fix this! 🙂

    • Kim says:

      Sadly no print aprons allowed here. My work aprons are white with a ruffled bib. I wore a (new) vintage style apron, with a small floral pattern once, and was reminded of her uniform regulation.

      K-Sounds like you need a nicer employer. 🙂 Do you have a blog or anything that I can visit?

Leave a Reply

