Potential

I have been thinking back to my younger years and wondering to myself “what was I so afraid of? why didn’t I do that sooner?”

In some ways I was more adventurous than those around me, but I didn’t really hang out with the most adventurous types either. I’m actually pretty tame and conservative, but in my peer groups I tend to be the unconventional one. Or in other words, I do things the hard way. It’s both a curse and a blessing. (my poor parents)

spirit

Somewhere along the way I learned tolerance, acceptance and a very important lesson that all people are not only very capable of changing, they often do. . . probably many times over a lifetime. I embrace change for I understand there would be no progress without it. I wouldn’t progress without it. I feel very fortunate for all of my own experiences, both good and bad, and for the learning and growth that has come with each of them.

I respect that not everyone feels or thinks the same way that I do, and understand that it is not my job to try to change or criticize the opinions of others. We all have free agency. My lifestyle and choices are exactly that. Mine. Though I’m not original by any means. I get inspiration where most everyone else does; through nature, great artists, musicians and by incredible leaders whose very thoughts are inspired.

potential2

I learn by observing, reading, and above all trying. That doesn’t mean that I always succeed mind you. In fact, I have way more failures this way. But I would rather have my regrets come from messing up, rather than never trying in the first place.

This is a small list of things that have helped me along my journey:

  • focus on the positives or find the beauty in every situation and experience (there is always at least one thing)
  • surround myself with only those who encourage and uplift
  • ask questions (lots of questions) from those who I admire and aspire to be like
  • test out the answers to find the ones that work for me (see above)
  • be open at all times to inspiration, no matter where I am or what I am doing
  • take time for yourself without guilt
  • stop worrying what others think (or as Andie says “be brave” )
  • be encouraging and helpful to others who are “trying”
  • share your talents and thoughts with those around you
  • pray

Currently, I have been able to see J start a career where not only will he be able to utilize his full potential, but also progress in his field. I know that it is my turn to offer the support and encouragement that I have always received from him and I am excited for him to prove to himself what I have known all along.

So my Friday wish to all of my friends is to gather up your potential, put on your cute shoes and go change a few things…

{cards from http://www.curlygirldesign.com/ }

This entry was posted in art, family, life, love, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Potential

  1. Change…change is hard isn’t it. And it involves risk. But, we get no where that we want to go without a bit of risk. A good lesson. I am summoning up my courage now.

    K-I used to fear change, but now I crave it. As for the fears, I’m getting my courage up too! πŸ™‚ Good luck…

  2. odette says:

    Change… courage… life. Things that are important that we have to face and tackle sooner or later.

    But if we base our change from unchangeable God then our change will soon be perfected by his ultimate wisdom… until we reach the peak of “constant”… then we will not change anymore. We reach the status quo.

    K-Great thoughts, thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  3. Nicole says:

    I’m change resistant, have been my whole life. But the funny thing is, the older I get, the more adaptable I’ve become. (That’s not saying much. I’m still pretty stuck in my ways.)

    I have to remind myself that it can be a GOOD thing, too. How much would I miss if I just stayed on the straight and narrow ALL the time?! πŸ™‚

    K-You’ve got me thinking of all the things that I’m not bendable about now… πŸ˜‰

  4. Andie says:

    Personal changes I can make no problem..changes that have to or will effect the family…ohhhhh so much harder!! I question myself a zillion times about them.

    Love what you wrote here hon. Very thought provoking.
    a.

    K-I think changes have been pretty easy on my family, but my kids are still really young. I know the time will come where I will have to be a little more. . .structured? We’ll see… πŸ˜‰

  5. K- I love your list! It really got me thinking. I LOVE change & find myself getting anxious for change, but when it comes to “personal” change, I struggle. I just might take your list & apply it to my life. Thanks for all your fun thoughts! You are an amazing writer!
    Love ya!

    K-Aww, you are so sweet Jen! I know I make it sound easy, but I struggle just as much if not more than everyone else! I just don’t fight the change as much anymore. πŸ™‚

  6. I like the part about cute shoes. Isn’t that the truth, though? I do feel special with cute shoes. I thought it was just me.

    K-Lol! That card reminds me a lot of my shoe-loving older sister. Cute purse, cute shoes, cute running outfit…take your pick! They all work! πŸ˜‰

  7. Momisodes says:

    Thank you for posting this. I’m so glad I read this today. This is exactly what I needed to see today.

    K-I love when I connect with a post so I know exactly what you mean. So glad that I was able to do that for you today. {hugs}

  8. Maxxy says:

    Its so good that you have people that are supportive around you, and that you, in turn, are supportive of others. It’s hard to make changes when its the other people around you who don’t like change. I’d love to do more with my music. There’s a charity Gig this weekend, but I can’t play. Or rather I could play, if others around me would let me. There are a squillion and one things I’d like to try, but alas, due to having to live two people’s lives, not just my own, I don’t think I will get to do alot of them…..

    K-I do have many supportive people in my life and I am learning how rare that really is. I hope you find more supportive people to surround yourself with and I also hope that you are making time to do the things that you LOVE. Good luck my friend.

  9. Cute shoes are a MUST! I’m happy for the new career!!!! (The benefit of being behind is that I’m not on the edge of my seat for too long!)

    About aprons…. CUTE! You are a design queen! I don’t wear aprons, but I want to. I love the idea of them. I think if I did wear one, I would like a full one for cooking because I’m always splattering something on my shirt. Pockets probably not necessary, but they never hurt.

    I actually have a crafting apron that I never wear, but I’m not really messy when I craft (at least messy with my clothes), and I have a huge area, so the pocket thing isn’t a big deal. I don’t need to keep things close. But again, I love the idea of a CUTE one. Mine isn’t very cute… only functional.

    I think we have to get used to wearing them, and I’m seeing them more these days, so maybe they’re going to be “in” again!

    K-I’m finding that sewing is a great creative outlet for me. It’s nice to have some physical reminder of my hard work too. It’s very satisfying! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

