Steady As She Goes…

steady-sky

I’ve been feeling like I lost my motivation as of late. Well, maybe a better word would be momentum. Earlier in the month it seemed like I was in overdrive and now I feel like I’m just cruising in 1st gear. I have felt busy, but when I look around it hasn’t seemed like I am accomplishing much…

This morning I was driving by myself (which never happens) and was able to have more than an hour of uninterrupted thinking time. I took a mental inventory of the last two weeks and figured out exactly where my time had been spent. It seems I have been accomplishing more than I originally thought. I have made 3 aprons, finished 4 scrapbooks on-line, attended 3 Girl Scout meetings (two at my house), made cookies and cards for my monthly card swap and kept my house from looking like complete chaos. This realization made me feel a little better.

I have also been beating myself up about not being constantly on the go and today it hit me that it’s not really what I’m doing, it’s what I’m feeling. Or in this case it’s what I’m not feeling and that is pressure. Somewhere in the last few months I have become a calmer, more centered K. I’m sure part of it has to do with the therapy (which I graduated from today) and the rest. . . who knows. But I don’t feel the pressure to change everything around me like I did before. Now I think the guilt over not doing what I think is enough will go away too. Or at least that is what I’m striving for. 

In keeping with this less stressed approach, I did change one thing; I decided to only do a half marathon in February. Instead of trying to keep up with a hectic training schedule of a full marathon during the holidays, I’m going to run as much as I can without totally wearing myself out. I have not been as diligent about my daily runs as I have been in the past and instead of killing myself trying to catch up to my old level, I’ll just be happy doing my 13.1 miles and enjoying the scenery in beautiful Sedona

Tomorrow I turn 33. A lot of growing and changing has happened in this time, but not as much as in this last year. It’s like the first 32 years were the preparations for this new life I’m experiencing now. And I have no intentions of rushing through this one…

This entry was posted in life, photography, random, running, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Steady As She Goes…

  1. Kemi says:

    First, and most important— HAPPY BIRTHDAY! 🙂

    Second, I am also feeling the loss of momentum. (I like that word so much better than motivation.) I’m not sure if it’s the natural rebound from Halloween or something else, but I admire you for taking the time to figure out all you DID accomplish. Because it was a lot.

    K-Thank you! You know, I should really start writing in a daily journal so I can see what I actually do every day. I might be surprised… 😉

  2. Nicole says:

    What a great realization! Maybe peace IS possible.

    Happy Early Birthday! Hope it’s a great one. (I envy you. To be 33 again … aaah.)

    K-Yes, I think peace is definitely possible! Thanks for the birthday wishes! 🙂

  3. You know, we all have our increases and decreases in momentum, as long as we don’t come to a complete stop, without someone around to get us moving again, it is all good.

    I am happy for you that you chose the 1/2 marathon. It will give you something to drive towards without the long hours that should be put into the training of a full. I am looking forward to ‘training with you’, so to speak!

    K-I think I’m way to stubborn to stop anything all-together. 😉 Happy Training!

  4. sounds like you are finding your balance. Good for you!

    K-It’s been a looooong process, but I do finally feel some balance. Yay! 🙂

  5. Heather D. says:

    So is it today or tomorrow? HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! YOu da’ best!

    K-That’s what I get for writing the post late! 😉 It was the 19th. Thanks, and I think you’re pretty awesome too!

  6. Andie says:

    I like the sound of the new and improved K! You got it babe, now just flow with it. I hope you have a wonderful, love filled day tomorrow.
    Big birthday hugs,
    a.

    K-It was love filled and wonderful. Thanks! 🙂

  7. Cresta says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

    K-I had lots of fun last night thanks to you! You’re the best! 🙂

  8. Wendy says:

    Have a great birthday! I can’t wait to go see twilight tomorrow for your B-DAY! Hope it is a great one!

    K-Me TOO! I hope it’s as good as the book…crossing my fingers! Thanks!

  9. Sister Sassy says:

    Great Post K! It reminded me of my mother, who just doesn’t know how to slow down. She’s older now and in not the greatest health so she has had to learn to tell herself its ok to take a nap. And it is ok. We drive ourself so much…

    I’m a big fan of the Sark book The Nap Book: how to change your life without getting out of bed. Its great and has Nap Permission slips to give to your boss or spouse, lol.

    Have a great time at your birthday and WOOHOO for graduation!!

    btw, keeping your house from chaos is a big deal. I’d be way ahead of the game if I could do that 🙂

    K-I LOVE the nap book idea! I could really have used one today too! 😉 Thanks for the b-day and graduation wishes!

  10. *clearing my throat*: ah-hem…”HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear Kspin, happy birthday to you…and many more!…”

    I know, I know, I won’t quit my day job! 😉 I hope you have a wonderful day.

    K-Thank you! I did! And I even got two runs in! 🙂

  11. BEAUTIFUL photo.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! (Apparently a day late, but my cousin in Mesa got me used to the idea of the “Holiday Birthday Weekend,” so according to that, your birthday lasts until Monday monring. I hope it is fabulous!)

    Take your time and enjoy. Very good.

    I LOVE SEDONA. Really, you want to enjoy that. I can hardly wait for the pictures.

    K-I like the b-day weekend idea! I think I’ll milk this a little longer! I’m excited for Sedona too, I haven’t been there before.

Leave a Reply

