Flashback Friday

This post is for SleepyJane who tagged me for a bike meme to help Guy McLaren with his cause. I’m not one to turn down something from Sleepy, so I’m supposed to blog about an experience with a bike. Well, how about my very first one…

me-on-a-bike

Nope, that’s not a boy, it’s me at almost 7 years old. Apparently this is the day I learned how to ride my bike. I still look pretty shaky don’t I? I remember riding up and down my parents long driveway over and over until I could turn without falling. I think it only took one day, but it was pretty much all day.

My daughter (big M) reminds me a lot of myself. She is just as determined, if not more than I was at her age. She made up her mind last year that she was going to master the monkey bars. She begged Jspin and I to take her to the park everyday for two weeks until she could make it across all the bars without falling. She would go home with blisters and sometimes bloody hands, but without fail she would be right back out there the next day trying again. Such a strong girl.

She has been riding a bike since she was 5, and is now just learning how to roller blade. Just like with the monkey bars, she has been outside with her friend pushing around Pitter Patter’s stroller for balance trying to figure it all out. I’m sure it will be only a short time until she is speeding along the neighborhood like a pro…

This picture was in the same book as the bike one, so I thought I would throw it in as well. I was only 5, so apparently I figured out how to roller skate before riding a bike. I can totally picture those roller skates even now. They were metal with leather straps and you wore them over your shoes. They had a key that you would use to adjust the skates so they were snug. They were NOT comfortable by any means, but hey, they worked.

me-on-skates

So what are your bike memories? I’m not going to tag anyone, but it’s to promote a good cause, so come on and share some stories with me! And don’t worry, you don’t need to add the embarrassing photos if you don’t want to!

This entry was posted in family, humor, kids, life, photography, random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Flashback Friday

  1. j says:

    LOL! That is so cute. I’ve never seen the roller skate photo before! I would have totally hit on you in second grade.

    K-And I probably would have flirted right back! πŸ˜‰

  2. cathleen says:

    What a cutie pie! You still are! My first bike experience is a great big scar on my knee..finally rode down the long driveway but crashed at the end. After all these years, and I do mean years…I still can see the scar. And I still remember how much it hurt when I crashed too!

    K-You are so sweet! I was such a tomboy I can’t even count all the scars up and down my shins. and knees. and elbows. πŸ™‚

  3. Stacy says:

    When I learned how to ride my bike with no hands, I thought I was so talented. I determined to learn how to ride with no hands AND eyes shut. That is, until I hit a parked car and had to walk the bike home in tears. Needless to say, I never learned to ride with my eyes shut cause I refused to practice that one again:)

    K-Hahaha! This story is so funny! My sister hit a parked truck once(with her eyes open) and I don’t think she has gotten on a bike since! She didn’t even get hurt…her tire got caught under the bumper and it just stopped her really fast. At least you still rode yours! πŸ™‚

  4. Nicole says:

    Those are SO cute! the only photo of me on or near a bike that I can think of is a tricycle. And rollerskating? No. I was not the most graceful of creatures.

    bike story: Age 9, staying at cousins’ house after school. Got on one of their bikes (a BIG bike for me) slid off the pedals and went down the street on my knees. Scraped em down almost to the bone.

    Still had to kneel in church …

    K-Sounds painful! I have a some serious cuts like that once, but it was when I was attempting to shave my legs for the first time… πŸ˜‰

  5. Guy McLaren says:

    Thank you for your story and the link, We appreciate your help

    K-No problem! Good luck with your adventure!

  6. sleepyjane says:

    That is so awesome! I never could get the hang of rollerblades/rollerskates. Thanks for doing the tag! I love the pictures. πŸ™‚

    K-Oh man, I was a rollerblading fool in High School! At one point I could even jump a few steps. I am way too uncoordinated for that kind of stuff now though! πŸ™‚

  7. OMG, I used to have roller skates just like that…lol Does that make us old or just experienced?

    Bike memories:
    …I have a picture somewhere of my dad pushing me around when I was about 5.
    …When I was 7 I got hit by a drunk driver while on a bike…I was lucky, he wasn’t going very fast and he only side swiped me.
    …Another bike memory is of me going head first over the handle bars, not after poking myself with the handle in the stomach, leaving a nasty round mark on my belly for weeks.

    No wonder I prefer running! lol

    K-Wow! You had terrible bike luck! I can’t believe you had those rollerskates! I’m glad someone else can relate to the feel of metal clamps over your toes! lol! I’m with you. I think I’ll stick to running. πŸ™‚

  8. that was cool! I love flashing back. And I loved your old pics. I have a few like that.

    K-My mom was nice enough to give me my baby book when I moved out and there’s lots of silly pics of me in there. I just might have to post a few more later… πŸ™‚

  9. Sister Sassy says:

    I don’t have any photos but when I was 13 and riding my bike very fast down a hill my friend suggested putting my foot along the wheel to slow myself down since the break wasn’t working. I, however, stuck my foot IN the spoke and was flew over my handle bars and onto the road. ouch! No helmets back then either…maybe thats whats wrong with me.

    K-I shouldn’t laugh, but of course I am! I don’t know why, but hearing about everyone’s bicycle accidents cracks me up! It must be because I know you are all okay now. That and I have a very vivid imagination! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

