Quick Thanks

So I’m a little behind on my posts. I’m blaming it on being sick the entire beginning of last week. I don’t think I showered one day before noon or left the house in makeup at all. I’m not really sure I even left the house actually…

By Thanksgiving I was feeling about 80%Β  better and I was VERY thankful for that! We had a relatively small, but nice holiday and I even managed to get everything all cleaned up before bed. There was no break-of-dawn shopping for me on Friday, but instead we were able to have some family and friends over to spend the day with us. The rest of the weekend was spent setting up the Christmas tree, more visits with family and a Saturday afternoon at the Zoo.

Earlier in the week I was laying in bed at night stressing about how behind I was getting with the turkey day prep and how many miles and sunrises I was missing out on by being sick. The next morning I awoke to beautiful pink and orange light streaming through my bedroom windows. I immediately felt a little better. Not good enough to get out of bed at 6:30am of course, but was very happy to have at least got a glimpse of a sunrise before I promptly fell right back asleep.

It had been raining on and off all week here and Thanksgiving day was another cloudy day. But by mid afternoon the sun came out and J and I decided to take a break in the cooking and go on a bike ride with the kids. We rode up and down the streets of our neighborhood enjoying the wonderful weather and fresh clean air. I was so glad to be feeling better and to have that break with my little family in the middle of a usually crazy day. That few hours ended up being the highlight of my whole week.

I had lots of things to post about this last week (like my one year blog-aversary) but instead I just want to say how grateful I am for my health, my husband who takes great care of me and picks up the slack when needed, my kids who let me lay on the couch for two days without totally tearing the house apart and offer lots of good snuggles, and for our new state and home that I fall in love with more and more everyday…

sunny-morning

This entry was posted in family, life, love, photography, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quick Thanks

  1. glad you’re feeling better! that’s a lovely photo.

    K-me. too. Nothing worse than being sick…

  2. Kemi says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, K.

    K-Thanks Kemi! Back at you! On to Christmas now right? Got my tree up too! πŸ˜‰

  3. Glad to see you again! And I am glad that you had people to take care of you when you were sick.

    K-Glad to be back! …and yes, I’m very lucky to have these caretakers. I feel bad for them though, I’m a grumpy sick person! πŸ™‚

  4. bookbabie says:

    Glad you’re feelin’ better K. Seems like everyone is sick right now, I had the five week cold that is finally gone, knock-on-wood:)

    K-A five week cold? Okay, I’m going to stop feeling sorry for myself right now! Thank goodness you are finally rid of it and I’m knocking on wood for you right now! πŸ™‚

  5. Andie says:

    Ohhh Happy blogversary and I am so glad you are feeling better.
    Much love friend,
    a.

    K-Happy to be better! thanks!

Leave a Reply

