It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas…

Last year I remember trying to keep the kids attention as I strung lights, unwrapped ornaments and attached ribbon to the branches of my tree. The ornaments only kept them interested for about 10 minutes and then they were off playing on their own while I slaved fussed over our tree myself. Hopefully those days are over for a while.

p-decorating-tree

The day after Thanksgiving this year I strung the lights on the tree (all 10 strands) as my girls brought box after box of Christmas decorations out of storage. I didn’t have to push/prod/beg at all! They even brought their little stereo out of their bedroom so they could listen to the Christmas cds they had unpacked. They sang along with The Chipmunks as they helped me decorate. mirand-dirty-sleeve

I always enjoy putting up the tree, but this year I was especially giddy as I watched all three of my children ooh-ing and ahh-ing over the ornaments as they pulled out their favorites. Even Pitter Patter was getting into it. He kept saying how much he loved “kissmus”!

I usually string ribbon around the tree, but my kids were raring to go with the decorating so I decided to forgo the ribbon this year. I was really tempted to rearrange the tree after all my little helpers left the room, but they were so pleased with their work that I decided to leave it.

maddy-decorating-the-tree

Now my house is littered with random Christmas paraphanelia just waiting for me to find or make an open spot for. This is our second year in this house, but obviously I didn’t decorate much last year, becuase I have NO idea where to put everything! There are wreaths, santas, stockings, candles, little trees and outdoor lights that all need a home.

Between the extra decorations littered all over, my sewing projects taking over my bedroom and all the girl scout holiday goings on taking up my free time, I’m just glad at least the tree is done…

tree-2

For more Christmas tree viewing, check out this website! You can post a picture of your tree and play along as well!

This entry was posted in Christmas, family, kids, life, music, photography, random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas…

  1. i love your tree!

    K-Thanks! I just visited your blog and noticed you lived in AZ too, so howdy neighbor! 🙂

  2. Nicole says:

    Awwww … What a precious tree and a sweet story. This is an entry you need to print out, and put in a scrapbook with the photos. 🙂

    K-Great idea! I just might have to do that!

  3. It looks awesome. Jack Jack has been rearranging our ornaments ever since he put them up on the tree.

    K-Surprisingly, none of my kids have touched anything on the tree, but the tree skirt is an entirely different story! 🙂

  4. sleepyjane says:

    Awww, I can imagine that it was fun doing that with the kiddos. 🙂 Your tree looks beautiful just as it is!

    K-Thanks! And it actually was a lot of fun! I can’t wait to see how they are on Christmas morning now! 🙂

  5. sperlygirl says:

    bella!

    K-Merci! 😉

  6. It looks lovely!

    I think the tree looks so much better when decorated by kids’ hands…the love for Christmas and the holiday season shows. The kids decorated ours this year and they did a marvelous job. It really helps that the older kids can reach all the way to the top now and not all the ornaments are located on the bottom half of the tree. 😉

    K-You’re so right, in fact, the bottom looks better than the top that I did! 🙂

  7. Ann says:

    Your kidlets are so darling!

    K-Aww, thanks!

  8. Momisodes says:

    Your tree looks wonderful! “Kissmus”- I love it 🙂 That is so cute.

    K-He has a new one too now. When we pass a house with lots of lights he says “there’s kissmus out my window!” Of course this gets lots of giggles from the rest of the car. 🙂

  9. Your tree is beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

    K-Thanks for your fun tree meme! Lots of fun… 🙂

  10. Sally says:

    Your tree is beautiful. Thanks for sharing. Here’s mine.

    http://smilingsally.blogspot.com/2008/12/christmas-tradition-decorating-tree.html

    K-Thanks for the visit and the link to your tree. 🙂

  11. Andie says:

    Now I’m going to have that song in my head, lol! Beautiful tree and your kids are at the PERFECT age for Christmas fun.
    a.

    K-They are definitely enjoying this season, and keeping me really busy too! Too busy to be online as much anyway. I posted a new song to get stuck in your head now. Hope you like it! 😉

  12. Kristina says:

    Sounds like so much fun, and looks beautiful!

    K-Always lots of fun with my kids around. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

