Love At First Sight…

baby-boy

Today I got to see my son for the first time!

J and I intently watched the monitor as the technician checked over all the important parts and we were thrilled to learn that the baby was healthy and right on track for size. (though I was hoping to be further along) We got to see him wiggle and rub his head and even do a somersault! The whole experience was peaceful and calm and I knew we were meant to have this baby in our lives.

There is no doubt about the gender. He was very cooperative about that and we have two great pictures to embarrass him with when he is older. We didn’t really have a preference about a boy versus a girl (remember we got rid of everything?), but I’m happy that we’ll be ‘even stevens’ in our house and won’t have to convert the playroom to a bedroom as we were thinking we would.

I was starving (as usual) after the ultrasound so J and I had a fun little lunch date which was a great treat in itself. We were both giddy about the baby, of course, and right there as we ate our yummy Mexican food we picked a name for the newest member of our family. Just like that. Easy.

I’ve been a little anxious about this pregnancy, but after today I feel like I have some concrete evidence that things are just fine. I guess that’s only normal after a miscarriage. I know that it’s not a guarantee that things can’t go wrong, but it seems like everything is finally starting to fall into place for our future. No questions, no doubts, no worries, just enjoying life and all the craziness that comes with it.

This entry was posted in family, kids, life, love, random, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Love At First Sight…

  1. carrielouise says:

    yay! what a blessed time for you.

    K-Aw, thank you! We do feel very blessed right now… πŸ™‚

  2. Even your tummy takes great pictures. I am very happy for you! Thank you for sharing!!!

    K-I think all pregnant bellies are just cute! …at least that’s what I keep telling myself to feel better! πŸ˜‰

  3. Kemi says:

    Congratulations! Two of each is FABULOUS! They should be good friends.

    Can’t wait to hear what you’re going to name him. πŸ™‚

    K-I’m really excited that Pitter will have a brother and I hope they do become great friends!

  4. Congratulations!!! That is so exciting! I hold a special place in my heart for little boys (obviously! πŸ˜‰ I’m so happy for you!

    K-Boys are sweet and I couldn’t be happier right now! I can’t wait to see your new boy too! πŸ™‚

  5. j says:

    You couldn’t have described my feelings more perfectly πŸ™‚

    K- πŸ™‚ I sure like you…

  6. How wonderful that your baby boy is healthy and that you are feeling peaceful about the rest of your pregnancy. Wishing you all the best.

    K-Thank you!

  7. tenacioustimothy says:

    Congratulations!! Having two boys is great…if you want some practice dealing with two I can lend you mine for a short while:-) Life and the craziness that comes with it is just about right and it will be a delightful time for the two of you!

    K-Thanks Tim! Not sure if I could handle ‘older’ boys…the 2 yr. old is just about I can handle right now! πŸ˜‰

  8. Shayleen says:

    Oh YAY!!! That is so exciting! I am really hoping for a boy too! I’d like an even number.

    K-When do you find out? I’ll cross my fingers for you! πŸ˜‰

  9. Nicole says:

    Awww … how perfectly wonderful! Man those ultrasound pictures are so much cooler now.
    I can remember friends waving around that negative, trying frantically to outline the little shadows and doubts!

    K-I was actually surprised how clear his profile was. None of my other ultrasound pics showed as much detail…pretty cool stuff! πŸ™‚

  10. I LOVE it! I hope all continues on well.

    K-Me too! Thanks! πŸ™‚

  11. sleepyjane says:

    Your son is gorgeous K! πŸ™‚ What I can see of him that is! I’m so happy for you guys!

    K-I think he is too! He has the cutest little face… Thanks Nic!

  12. Maxxy says:

    WOW….I haven’t been here for ages, and it seems I’m missing all the good stuff…..like a baby !!! Where did that come from ?? ( second thoughts, no telling, I’ll only get jealous !! LOL )…

    Hope things are going well, and I’ll have to do a bit of catch up reading….

    K-Yeah, where have you been? Just checked your blog out, and it seems you have been busy too! Good luck with the job! and thanks! πŸ™‚

  13. Come to Papa says:

    Congratulations!!You should have seen J’s face when he came back to the office! He kept randomly saying “Yeah, I am really excited about this!
    And yes K, everything is falling into place for you and J and I’ll do my best to ensure it does. So relax and enjoy the ride…

    K-Aw, thanks Fabien! Your comment just made my day… πŸ™‚

  14. sperlygirl says:

    many congratulations!!! sending love xx s

    K-You’re very sweet! Thank you!

  15. prohibited says:

    Aww, congratulations!

    K-Thanks!

  16. Andie says:

    Yayyyyyyyy. Oh I am just so, so, happy for you. You sound blissfully content. I swear just reading your post put me at peace too.
    Again, I am so very happy for you sweetheart. Congrats on your new little boy!
    xxoo,
    a.

    K-Very, very content right now. Life is good. Thanks for the congrats and coming by. I miss seeing you! πŸ˜‰

  17. bookbabie says:

    He’s so handsome, maybe we’ll have to fix him up with my granddaughter someday, they look an awful lot alike right now;)

    K-Isn’t he? πŸ™‚ Great idea! I think they are only going to be a few weeks apart! My girls think he looks like an alien in the photos…

Leave a Reply

