Sunshine Love

You know how it feels after winter has officially ended and the weather is nice and all you want to do is be outside all the time? Well, that’s how it is here now.

It’s not like we have a really cold winter here in AZ, but it does get pretty chilly and it does rain. This last month we have had lots of it! (which has been great for our new grass) Then over the weekend it became spring. Spring here is more like high 70’s and 80’s which is more like summer to many of you, but here it means that you hurry and enjoy it before the temperatures sneakΒ  into the 100’s, and that always comes too fast.

Sunday morning was warm enough to eat breakfast out on the porch and it was heavenly. Fresh fruit, whole wheat bagels and yogurt (for me and J) and cereal for the kids. Nothing exciting, but sitting out there having a leisurely breakfast while the birds chirped and the kids played in the cool morning sunshine was the highlight of the week for me.

It has been ideal weather for morning or evening walking and I have been sure to take advantage of that during this time of year. The afternoons are starting to get pretty hot, so we usually head inside just long enough to finish a little housework, homework (not me) and a little bloggy/Facebook time, then we are right back outside to get a little more vitamin D before dinner. If I pretend I’m on some beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean somewhere in Mexico ( thanks M & L for the jealousy on this one), I almost feel like I’m on vacation. Not quite, but almost.

wet-kids-in-feb

Yesterday we had an impromptu water fight in the backyard. Well not so much a water fight, mostly I just turned on the hose and told the kids to run through. I decided not to participate; 85 is not quite hot enough for me to get wet. Nowadays 95 is more my preferred temperature for any sort of water fun. Apparently my kids aren’t that picky. Pitter Patter threw a tantrum this morning because I wouldn’t hose him down at 8:30 this morning. Sorry buddy. You’re right, Mommy is “a meanie”. But right now a very happy meanie who hopes this weather can last and last…

This entry was posted in family, humor, kids, life, love, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunshine Love

  1. iheartfilm says:

    Great shot.

    Chris

    K-Thanks Chris. I just checked out your work…very nice!

  2. Ok…I am sooooooo jealous.
    I like winter, I like snow, but I am almost over it now.

    K-Don’t be jealous, pretty soon it will be over 100 degrees and unbearable! πŸ™‚

  3. I also prefer 95 for water activity, but your lawn looks fabulous!

    It’s too chilly here in the the mornings to get out, but I’m in the habit (if it’s not windy) of just sitting in the sun for a few minutes in the afternoon because it is SOOO warm and lovely.

    K-I’m surprised the grass has stayed so green. I hope it lasts! Cheers to sitting in the sunshine! πŸ™‚

  4. bookbabie says:

    Cool perspective on that shot! We are having lots of sun, which is great, but it’s 5 degrees right now:(

    K-I know a great escape where it is much warmer if you need to get away… πŸ™‚

  5. Right now 60 would feel like a heat wave here! *sigh*

    Do you have a spare bedroom, I’d like to come visit and enjoy the warmer weather πŸ˜‰

    K-I have two spare rooms! Bring the family! πŸ™‚

  6. sleepyjane says:

    “Sunday morning was warm enough to eat breakfast out on the porch and it was heavenly. Fresh fruit, whole wheat bagels and yogurt (for me and J) and cereal for the kids. Nothing exciting, but sitting out there having a leisurely breakfast while the birds chirped and the kids played in the cool morning sunshine was the highlight of the week for me.”

    You described heaven. Of course my kids would be doggies – but it’d be amazing! πŸ˜‰

    K-It is heavenly right now, of course we are going to get your heat soon… πŸ™‚

  7. Momisodes says:

    That looks like a dream! What a great shot πŸ™‚ We just had another foot of snow fall today. Can I live vicariously through your blog and photos? πŸ™‚

    K-I love how everything looks right after it snows, but I’m much happier in warm weather! πŸ™‚

  8. Ericka says:

    Looks wonderful!

    K-It’s perfect weather…right now anyways! Soon it will be HOT! πŸ™‚

  9. mycrazylife says:

    Oh sure, rub it in, while I’m up to my knees in snow. OK, ankles, but it feels like my knees! πŸ™‚

    K-I really tried to contain my excitement, but it’s just too good right now! I’ll be more sensitive in the future! πŸ˜‰

  10. Andie says:

    Omg 85 is not HOT enough for you to get wet, lol. You crack me up! Well here in Washington it’s considered summer if it hits 60!
    Love this shot.
    xxoo,
    a.

    K-That is exactly why I can’t live in Washington! πŸ˜‰ I am such a baby!

  11. Jennie says:

    I just found this website from your other one. It’s adorable! My body & mind are craving some sunshine-bring on the spring! Congrats on your boy. Yea!

    K-Thanks Jen! My family is saying the same thing…no more snow! It won’t be long… πŸ™‚

  12. Ann says:

    Isn’t it funny that 70 degrees is “cold” here, lol?!!!

    K-I remember checking the temps in Utah to see if it was 80 degrees so we could swim…brrr!!! I never thought 70 would feel cool, but it sure does now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

