Spring Apron Swap

r-in-her-new-apronIf you have visited here in the last few months, you have probably notice that I am starting to have quite the fetish with aprons. I haven’t made one for a month or so, and after a trip to the fabric store with my good friend yesterday, I decided it was high time to make another one. . .or maybe twenty!

I  found this picture of  my niece wearing the apron I made for her birthday, (poor thing got stitches on her nose the day of her party) and had the urge to start sewing them again. As I was searching online for cute fabrics and patterns, I came across this great blog and a very fun swap. Abby held an apron swap last year, and I fell in live with the idea!

I keep getting in trouble for making all of my blogging friends jealous with my warm weather talk, so I thought this would be a fun way to distract my friends who are still freezing to death stuck inside for a bit longer. Doesn’t this sound fun?! I know, you can’t wait, right?! Good!

Here is a run down (again from Abby’s swap) to let you know how it all works.

So here are the rules:

1.) Apron needs to have a “Spring/Summer” theme – standard adult sized
2.) Apron needs at least 1 pocket – can be a half apron or full, you decide (I’m saying pocket or no pocket is fine!)
3.) Apron MUST be hand-made, whether you purchase a hand-made one or do it yourself
4.) Don’t forget to pre-wash all fabric before you sew
5.) Aprons MUST be in the mail by Friday May 1st. (that should give us all plenty of time)
6.) Include a recipe and a little something to tell about yourself

Anything else you want to add is up to you. Email me your name, address, and blog if you have one and anything else you need your partner to know about like if you HATE the color pink or things like that. I’ll put a list together and you will not have the same person who has your name, so it will all be a surprise.

Tell EVERYONE you know because the more, the better!

I’ll have a finished list by WEDNESDAY, MARCH 18TH.

Also, your aprons do NOT need to be fancy or frilly. Just be sure to throw in your personality and create something you’d love for yourself.

So, what do you all think? Sounds fun, right?! Good! Now spread the word and email me all of your info at kspin (at) live (dot) com. Also if you send me a picture of the apron you receive,  I’ll post them on a  flickr page so we can see all the fun creations!

Remember that this is just for fun, so even if you have never sewed a day in your life it’s still okay to try! Abby has some really easy tutorials on her site and I found TONS of free patterns all over the internet, so you should have many options out there. I liked how she organized this summer swap and I will be using these same guidelines for my swap.

Also, to all of you near me who say you can’t sew, I will have at least one or two crafting nights at my house where I can help you make your apron, or thread your needle or whatever. You know who you all are, so no excuses.

Thanks to all of you who participate, and I can’t wait to see what you all come up with!

*Update* This is a list of all those who have signed up so far. Let me know if I have missed anyone, and remember you can still sign up until Wednesday the 18th!

*Shirlee *Kemi *Ericka *Keri *Carolyn *Rachel *Cyndee *Cresta *Me *Vandee *Deedra *Melinda *Anna* Stacy*

This entry was posted in crafts, family, life, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring Apron Swap

  1. Shirlee Webb says:

    So I make an apron and you are going to tell me where to send it is that right? Shirlee
    Do you need my address? What else?

    K-Yep, you got it! I’ll tell you who you have and where to send it and that person’s preferences if any. And I have your address, thanks! 🙂

  2. kspin says:

    Thanks so much for those who have already contacted me to sign up! So far I have 5 people and two over-achievers even made their adorable aprons yesterday! I’m also working on a button to add to your blogs for those who want it to tell about the swap. I can tell this is going to be a lot of fun! Remember to spread the word! 🙂

  3. Kemi says:

    I’ve gone back and forth on this since you posted it. I am NOT an experienced seamstress, but I think I could pull off an apron by May 1.

    Ooooohhh… okay, I’m in.

    K-Haha! Be brave…and yes, I’m sure you could pull this off too! Thanks for participating and thanks for the link love as well! 😉

  4. Pingback: Apron Exchange « Kemi, like “chemistry”

  5. Rachel says:

    Count me in!! I would love to participate!!

    Let me know what else you need from me, since I am sure you don’t know me OR my address! 🙂 hehe! And thanks for organizing this!

    K-Thanks Rachel! By the 18th I’ll have the whole list compiled and will let you know who you have. As for info for me, just email me your address and any strong preferences about apron type. Thanks again for joining in, I can’t wait to get this going! 🙂

  6. SewDucky says:

    I don’t know if I want to do it but if someone needs help with making it or a pattern, I’ll be more then happy to offer all kinds of help for those that think they’re too inexperienced to make one.

    K-How nice of you to offer your services to everyone! I think you should join the swap! Who couldn’t use another cute apron?! 🙂 Thanks again!

  7. Ericka says:

    Can I join even if I’ve never made an apron before? Read:complete novice will be making apron(: I can sew, but…..

    K-Yay Ericka! 🙂 So glad you are joining the fun! I just picked up the CUTEST material today! Can’t wait to get mine started! I’ll give you a name and address by next Thursday!…and you’ll do just fine!

  8. Ericka says:

    So I need to send you my address, but I can’t figure out where your email is….lol. Brain is fuzzy….can you email me at ander98@netzero.com and I will email you back….thanks!

    K-You got it! 🙂

  9. SewDucky says:

    I can also host, or come to, a party for those not “crafty” to help around Florence, AL. I’m not signing up (if you wind up with someone dropping out after you make the list, feel free to email me at sewducky.blog@gmail.com and I’ll do an emergency fill in) but I’ll be happy to help.

    K-This is so nice of you! Hope all of you in AL see this… 🙂

Leave a Reply

