Smells Like Spring

wordless-wednesday

orange-tree

There’s nothing like the smell of orange blossom on a light breeze to make you feel like you are on a tropical island, even if momentarily. I wish I could properly describe the scent, but it’s probably most similar to the fragrance of a gardenia, but maybe a hint lighter and sweeter.

I spent yesterday morning picking oranges at my aunt’s home in Mesa. Every time I would pull an orange off the tree a handful of blossoms would fall out of the tree and into my hair. I couldn’t get over how good the little white blossoms smelled and how pretty it looked to watch them floating out of sky.

I wish I could’ve captured some of the blossoms, but unfortunately my kids got a hold of my camera and now it is out of commission. This picture from last spring’s orange harvest will have to do!

This entry was posted in family, life, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Smells Like Spring

  1. Kemi says:

    What would it be like to pick oranges directly from a tree?

    I can almost imagine the scent. 🙂

    K-Oh, it’s SO good! And it is weird to pick the oranges off the tree, they almost look fake. They are too perfect. Lol! 🙂

  2. Momisodes says:

    Wow! Those look beautiful! I just love the flecks of orange peeking out 🙂

    K-They really are pretty trees, and did I mention the smell?.. 😉 Thanks!

  3. Very nice. I love the smell of the citrus blooms. We have to grow ours indoors here.

    K-Thanks. One of my favorite things about AZ in the spring!

  4. Jennie. says:

    I LOVE that smell. When I get a whiff of that, it brings back of flood of memories of my days in Arizona as a missionary.

    K-I didn’t remember that you served here. Very cool… 🙂

Leave a Reply

