Right About Now

We moved to Arizona three weeks before Pitter Patter was born and I knew exactly two families at that time. I remember painting the master bathroom of our rental house just days before he was born and going to Joe’s Crab Shack the evening I went into labor. You know, one more night out before we got super busy. I’m still so glad we did that as I don’t remember leaving the house much at all that next year!

birthday-boy

This picture was taken this morning on his ‘real’ birthday. He thinks he is already 3 as we celebrated earlier in the week before my sister left town, but today is the day. I made sure to snag my dad’s camera to get a picture to blog with of Nana and Papa before they left. P was so happy to wake up and see that they were still here, even if it was only for a little while. He still has a couple more days with his other Grandma and Grandpa, so there are no tears. Yet…

Pitter has always been such a sweet boy. He was the most cuddly of all my kids and he still gives out hugs and kisses with little or no prompting. (though he does “wipe off” the kisses right after) He is still obsessed with anything Star Wars related, but his new interest is Spiderman and all the other super heroes. It’s pretty entertaining to watch him talking to his ‘guys’. You can almost hear the gears turning in his little head as his imagination takes over.

Here are the answers to my mini interview with P just now:

  • favorite breakfast – “Raisin Brown” (bran)
  • favorite dinner – “pizza”
  • favorite toy – “Piderman with the helicopter”
  • favorite activity – “running through the sprinklers”
  • favorite game – “Piderman memory”
  • favorite books – “Star Wars book and Elmo I Spy book”
  • favorite candy – “smarties and suckers”
  • favorite color – “blue”
  • favorite blanket – “teddy bear blanket” (he found this again and wouldn’t part with it, so Nana sewed it)

He still loves to sleep in his crib and still insists on wearing matching pajamas to sleep. No exceptions. He is still sucking his thumb (of course) and would be happy to live on a liquid diet of apple juice, milk and smoothies if his mom wasn’t so mean and made him eat solid food three times a day. He loves to have friends over to play, especially if they will fight with light sabers with him.

We have been watching old home videos this week, and I can’t believe how much P has changed or how fast time has flown by. Was it only a year ago I did this birthday post for him? I really thought Pitter would be our last child and I remember savoring each milestone, thinking that I wouldn’t be able to experience moments like that again. Now here I am about to see him become a big brother in a few months and am so thankful to have the chance to raise another ‘babyspin’.

P is such a fun addition to our family and is still my little momma’s boy. When he was yelling for me the other day J tried to convince him that he could help, but he refused saying “but Mommy needs me”. So true my big boy. So true.

Happy Birthday Love…

This entry was posted in family, kids, love, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Right About Now

  1. iheartfilm says:

    Yeah, Pizza rocks.

    K-Thank goodness everyone in this house agrees with you. Easy dinner! 🙂

  2. Kim Skinner says:

    I can’t believe it has been 3 years. I remember meeting Jake and your girls at the park about a week after you moved in. You were home painting that bathroom and nesting. We’re so glad you have settled in here – you guys are an awesome family!

    K-J still talks about that park day. Too funny. We love being here, so I’m glad no one is sick of us yet! 😉

  3. Kemi says:

    Oh, he’s such an adorable little boy! 🙂

    The interview questions were so fun to read! (“Piderman.” Classic.)

    Happy Birthday, little P!

    K-Thanks Kemi! P just got the ‘black piderman’ so he is in serious hero heaven right now…

  4. What a sweet boy, and sounds like my almost 4 year old. But, he will not actually eat food, most of the time.

    K-I don’t know what this pickyness is lately, but trying to find things for him to eat is getting old! Fruitsnacks and apples are the only thing I can count on these days. 🙂

  5. Little boys are so sweet? Aren’t you glad, you’ll have two now? 😉

    K-Absolutely! I can’t wait! 🙂

  6. Nicole says:

    Happy birthday, Pitter! What an awesomely sweet post this is. You’re both truly blessed.

    K-Thanks Nicole! 🙂

  7. sleepyjane says:

    Happy (belated) birthday Pitter!! I hope you had a good day! 😉

    K-We had a week long celebration and I’m pretty sure he enjoyed all of it! 🙂 thanks!

  8. Tara Mecham says:

    Happy Birthday belated! Sending kisses and hugs from us!

    K-I’ll pass them on for you. 🙂

  9. Andie says:

    What a sweetheart. The snuggler type boys are the best.
    So happy he had a wonderful bday.

    K-I just know he is going to grow out of snuggles soon so I’m hoping this next boy is a snuggler too! 😉

Leave a Reply

