Almost There…

36 week belly

Thank goodness for that! I’m now 36 weeks and 4 days according to my ‘baby counter’. Only24 more days to go. (hopefully less if my Dr. is still willing to induce)

I keep waiting for the real nesting to kick in. I felt it at the beginning of the pregnancy, but now all I feel is sore and tired. We had just moved to AZ when I was this far along with Pitter and I couldn’t keep still at all! I painted the kitchen and master bathroom in our rental house, sewed a whole crib set and still felt like doing more. J and I did manage to get some shelves put in the baby’s closet over the weekend, but the stripes I have planned for the walls haven’t even been started yet.

Maybe it’s that I’m a little older now, or maybe it’s this desert heat getting to me, but I am ready to be DONE! I think J is ready for me to be done too. I don’t know how he has put up with my whining about sore ribs, or twitchy legs, or puffy fingers and feet. I know my hands don’t look too bad in this picture, but my ring is usually a little loose and for the last 2 weeks I haven’t been able to take it off. At all. It’s stuck there until this baby comes!

My sister and in-laws have my girls in Utah for a few weeks so they wouldn’t be bored here with me getting ready for baby, so I really need to take advantage of that time and get some work done. Hopefully the panic I will feel the last week before I’m due will be enough motivation to get everything all finished up. Admittedly, until this last month I’ve still been in denial about having a baby at all, so maybe that’s the reason I’ve been dragging my feet. Just last week I broke down and bought my first case of diapers. You would think just looking in the mirror would be all the convincing I would need, but apparently not.

Okay, I’m done venting about how miserable I am and how jealous I get when I see anyone running. I promise this is the last time I will whine about feet in my ribs or my nightly heartburn. I won’t complain about how strange my belly button looks right now and how crazy it makes me when everyone (meaning my kids) wants to rub it because it’s so “soft”. No more mention of how I can’t fall asleep without 3 or 4 extra pillows all around me supporting all of my protruding parts, and even when I do fall asleep I have to get up in the middle of the night to “go” and then have to work really hard to fall asleep again.

In all seriousness, please know that I am very excited for this new baby boy and I do know how lucky we are to be having a baby while others out there struggle. I can’t wait to see his cute face and I won’t mind the sleepless nights when I have someone sweet and little to wake up to. (well, maybe I will) But all this uncomfortableness and pain IS worth it and soon I’ll be back to whining about something else. Promise!

This entry was posted in family, humor, life, photography, random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Almost There…

  1. j says:

    Rant all you want . . . I’m not the one that has to be pregnant 😉

    K-True! But thanks! You’ve put up with a lot… 😉

  2. Nicole says:

    I totally remember “whining” when I was pregnant the first time and someone telling me that this was the most rested I’d feel for a long time because all of the real “trouble” starts once the baby is actually born. But still…pregnant ladies can complain all they want. 🙂

    K-It’s hard to say which sleeplessness is worse, with or without baby, but I’m ready to have my body back to myself for sure! 🙂

  3. Momisodes says:

    Those last few weeks are SO tough! The sleepless nights start well before the baby arrives. But you really do look great!

    We lived in hot southern California at the when my daughter was born. It was at the end of August and the heat really did seem to take the uncomfortable factor up a notch.

    K-You’re sweet Sandy, thanks! The heat does make it harder, but I don’t leave the house much these days unless it’s for Dr. appts or the pool! 🙂

  4. Alison says:

    You can complain–I remember how miserable I felt. Hang in there; it will all be worth it!

    K-Today is much better. Venting helped! 🙂

  5. Kemi says:

    Honey, anyone who has ever had a baby knows just what you are describing.

    Actually, let me say anyone who has ever had more than one knows what you are describing. My first was a breeze, and the subsequent three were killers.

    Good luck! I’m crossing my fingers for an early (but safe!) labor.

    K-Thanks Kemi! It must be worth it if we’ve done it as many times as we both have! 😉

  6. You deserve to vent. My wife and I just found out that we are expecting. She is 7 weeks along and already is tired. It will be our first and I am so excited I can hardly stand it. It is amazing just how much I love my baby already. My baby is the size of a blueberry and I have more love for it than words can express.

    K-The first one is so exciting! Congrats to both you and your wife, and I know what you mean about having feelings before you even meet them…just wait, when you actually do meet them it’s 100 times stronger! Thanks for the visit!

  7. Nicole says:

    (Clearly the earlier entry was a DIFFERENT Nicole …)

    Just remember how much you wanted this little guy and how excited you were when you found out. He’ll be asking for the car keys before you know it. 🙂

    K-It does go fast…which is good and bad! Thanks. 🙂

  8. sperlygirl says:

    ohhhh, hang in there k – my fingers are crossed for you that it is an easy delivery! take care!! xx s

    K-I know it’s close, I just need to be patient! 😉 Hope you are still feeling good in your pregnancy as well!

  9. The last part of pregnancy, that miserable part? It is God’s way of making sure that we push that baby out no matter how much it hurts, because we sure as heck don’t want it staying inside any longer 🙂

    K-This makes SO much sense! Lol! Love it, thanks! 🙂

  10. sleepyjane says:

    I know you’re probably uncomfortable and all that, but you do look pretty! 🙂

    K-I feel like a lot of things, but pretty isn’t really one of them right now. Still, you are very sweet! Thanks!

  11. bookbabie says:

    You’re allowed to whine K, the last weeks are the hardest. Meagan is pretty uncomfortable too, hoping like all woman that she has the baby before the due date and not late! Grandma-to-be went and bought some baby stuff to keep here yesterday, a cool stroller, a monitor…I hope they let me babysit, I’m ready:)

    K-Oh I’m sure that baby will be spending lots of time with her Grandma! Can’t wait to see all the great pictures you’re going to take of her too! Meagan is even closer than I am, so hopefully she (and you) don’t have to wait too much longer! 😉

  12. Sugar Jones says:

    Oh wow! You look so beautiful!!! Okay, and how cute is the belly button pooching out? That was my fave part.

    Can’t wait to see the baby!

    K-Lol! You are sweet! I can’t wait to see him either… 🙂

  13. Jennie says:

    Girl, I feel your pain! It is such a miracle and yet so miserable all at the same time. Good luck and vent all you want.

    K-Miserable+miracle=baby. Yep, sounds about right! 😉 Thanks Jennie!

  14. iandie says:

    You look AMAZING!! I was really hoping I didn’t “miss” the big event.

    xxoo,
    a.

    K-You are sweet! I was slow to update, but you didn’t miss anything! 😉 It’s hard to find blogging time now. I know, hard to imagine huh?!

Leave a Reply

