Making Progress

I had this *great* idea to add stripes on the walls of Pitter’s/baby’s new room thinking that this would be much easier than painting the whole room. Well it was definitely not easier, but I have to say I do love it!

room prep 1

Thankfully I had some great advice from some of my Facebook friends on how to get great stripes without “bleeding”. Good thing they watch HGTV! It was a lot of prep, but I had almost no bleeding through the tape which made touch-ups super easy!

room prep 2

The trick was to paint the base coat color on the edges of the tape, let them dry and then paint the stripes. It took me 10 times as long to put up the tape and paint the base coat as it did just to do the stripes, but the walls are so textured that I know without all that it would have been a disaster!

stripes done

It took 2 full rolls of tape to get all of the stripes done, but I ended up having lots of leftover paint. Next time (if I ever decide that I need another 5 day project) I would probably just buy the sample size paint cans instead of a full quart of each color. I guess I can always use the extra paint for shelves or something later…

stripes 2

I’m so pleased with how it turned out! For a while I debated even hanging anything up on the walls as not to distract from the stripes, but I am going to keep it simple and only keep one print and three metal vintage airplanes that we have. They used to be in J’s bathroom when he was a little boy, so I thought that would be pretty cool to have in the room now. That and the crib bedding I have is vintage airplanes as well, so it works out great!

stripes 3

I know Pitter Patter was hoping for something more along the lines of a Spiderman or Star Wars room, but for now he’s happy just to have his room back at all! I’m now feeling a little more prepared for the arrival of “The Captain” (which is what my FIL has already nicknamed him). The baby clothes are all washed and put away, diapers and wipes are ready to be used, and the room is 95% ready. I need to sew a simple valance for each window and then I’m done!

My nesting instincts must have finally kicked in as I have also cleaned out the girl’s room and closet as well. As soon as J and I get their new closet shelves in, their room will be all pretty and clutter free. Of course that won’t last long after they get home, but it sure looks great right now!

Okay, I have to go get wet with a little boy. At 108 degrees it’s finally hot enough for me to swim now too…

This entry was posted in kids, life, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Making Progress

  1. Alys Morris says:

    Love it. I tried to do the same thing for Rex’s room years ago and it was a bleeding disaster! You did such a great job!!!

    K-Thanks! I was lucky to get some tips before I attempted it!

  2. Kemi says:

    108? I would DIE.

    The room looks amazing. All your hard work paid off! Now if only the littlest guy would make an entrance… 😉

    K-Yeah, it’s a little hot. It’s still 100 degrees at 8pm…good times. 😉 And yes, I’m ready for baby!

  3. That is SOOOO cool! Thanks for the non-bleeding tip, too. I had no idea. And I live in the Southwest, too, which means VERY textured walls!

    K-Don’t you love the textured walls! Glad you liked the stripes! 🙂

  4. Tina says:

    The room looks great! We had fun visiting with your girls at C’s Birthday Party.

    K-I’m missing those girls! I heard it was a fun but rainy party! 🙂

  5. Nicole says:

    Hey, that looks awesome! Can’t imagine any little boy wouldn’t love it.

    Sounds like you’re very nearly all set.

    K-Coming from Ms. DIY-er that means a lot! thanks! 🙂

  6. sleepyjane says:

    Wow, the room looks really fantastic! 🙂

    K-Thanks Nic! 🙂

  7. That looks awesome! When are you coming to paint my house?

    K-Hmm, it may be a while. Can barely get up off the couch these days… 😉

  8. That looks great. I wish I was crafty like that.

    Don’t forget to get some major rest in before the little guy comes along. :o) I am very excited for you guys!

    K-I think I get more rest now that he is here. Did I mention how miserable I was pregnant?…well, I was! 🙂

  9. bookbabie says:

    The room turned out great! My son is also nesting, it’s funny to listen to him list all the things he’s cleaned lately. Still nothing happening and Meagan’s due date is tomorrow, she’s stressing a little:(

    K-It must be a first baby thing. My first was 5 days late and it was torture waiting!

  10. Momisodes says:

    The stripes turned out wonderfully!!! I just love the colors you chose.

    K-Thanks! I’m really pleased with it and hope they don’t want to change it anytime soon!

  11. Shayleen says:

    Cute! Good job, I love it!

    K-Thanks Shayleen! Can’t wait to see your new little one!

  12. Maxxy says:

    Cool Stripes !!

    Hope all is well in your world, and I’m envious. Everybody around us at the minute is having kids, and it never seems to happen for us 😦

    I’m sure it will. All in good time. In the process of trying to move again at the minute. Sold ours, but have nowhere to go !!!! YIKES !!

    K-Probably a good thing you’re not trying to move with a little one around! Don’t worry, I’m sure soon enough you’ll have a house full of mini-maxxy’s! 🙂

Leave a Reply

