Let’s Try This Again…

2 month old baby G

“It’s time to grow.”

Someone I respect and admire said this to me the other day and I knew exactly what he was talking about. It is time. Time to reinvent myself and start anew.  Again.  It seems like every 6 months or so I go through a sort of  metamorphosis that helps me get a little bit closer to the person I am striving to become. Every change is a small step forward. With an emphasis on small. It seems to be a very long process.

This week I feel like I took 3 steps backwards. I didn’t spend quality time with my family in the ways I wanted to. I didn’t stick to my workout schedule. I let myself get caught up in issues that really, are quite unimportant in my life, especially in regards to my goals. To be concise, I fell short. I am better than this…

Though it’s frustrating, I’m glad I’m aware of these setbacks as it gives me a bit more motivation to work harder and not repeat the same mistakes. As I’m coming up on my second year of this blog, I find myself reading old entries and reminiscing all that has aspired during that time. I have to say, I am proud of my personal growth and the positive changes in my life that have come despite all of my shortcomings. No doubt there is some direct correlation there.

Another thought I had while reading all the comments I have received was just how much I love my readers. I don’t care if that sounds cheesy, it’s true. When I see the familiar names, and get to know the new ones, I have a very vivid picture in my mind of who you all are. I see your blogs, your pictures, your words in my head, and I feel like I know so much about you. That is why I truly love the blogging world. Writing is so personal. Everyone has their own style, talents, quirks, passions; it’s a great little community where differences are appreciated and often celebrated.

With all these things in mind, I decided during this particular self transformation that I am going through, it was high time for me to share something a little more personal. My name. When I started this blog, I was not sure what to expect and was a little leery about how much information to put out here. But most of you who come here regularly know it already, and it seems like the right time to make that change. So…

“Hi, my name is Karolee. I live in Arizona, I am LDS and I have a wonderful family, great friends and a fulfilling (sometimes crazy) life. And J? Yeah, that’s Jake. My husband and best friend for the last 11 years. Madeline (Maddy) is my oldest who just turned 8. Miranda is my precocious 5 year old. My 3 year old ‘Pitter Patter’ is actually Patrick, (though  we often do call him by his nickname) and our newest edition is 2 month old baby Geoffrey.

Nice to meet you”…

This entry was posted in family, kids, life, love, photography, random, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Let’s Try This Again…

  1. Nice to meet you too!
    It is good to have those times that help us move forward. Recently, I have been so busy, I was questioning whether I should keep blogging or not, because it does take up time that I could/should be doing other things. But, I would miss all my friends. So, I am here, but trying hard to make it an extra part, not of an instead of part of my life.

    K-Thanks! I have thought about bagging the blog many times, but now I just write when I can or want to. I don’t feel a need to do it like I used to.

  2. Tina says:

    I’m glad you are using your names from now on. I love the world of blogging and I’ve learned a lot about friends & family through their blogs. I love that we can all get a small glimpse into eachothers lives.

    K-It was starting to feel silly to use code names! 🙂 And I agree with you, blogging is great.

  3. Nicole says:

    Thanks for continuing to share your beautiful family. That baby is gorgeous!

    K-He sure is sweet too. 🙂 Thanks for the motivation I always get from your blog!

  4. Jamie says:

    You are such an inspiration to me. Watching your focus on personal growth through your blog inspires me to work harder on those things in my life I’m struggling with. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

    K-I could say the exact same about you. You are a very brave and courageous woman and I envy your many adventures. I hope you know how many of your peers admire and look up to you. Myself included. So thank YOU. 🙂

  5. cyndee says:

    Which ultimately says to me, they were not shortcomings, when you have personal growth you can’t look at them in a negative light. And certainly becoming a mother of 4, something I will never do, and in the manner in which you have, with grace and aplomb, is worth of praise 😉

    and personally knowing you, though I don’t see you daily, or even weekly the past few months, I can assure you and every one else, that you are a woman of integrity, caring, and someone Im glad to know. You inspire my patience tbd ;), I could not be a GS coleader without you, no matter how last minute we leave it ;).

    And as an assay to your person and leadership, IM so not ready to split us into B’s and G’s, I need us to be a group still, I can’t do it with just me, unless your willing to take on another co

    K-You have no idea how much this comment means to me. I consider myself very lucky not only have a great partner in GS, but to have had the opportunity to get to know you and your family over this last year. You are a GREAT mom and your kids are a testament of your wonderful parenting. Thanks for putting up with me and my craziness… 🙂

  6. kspin says:

    Okay, WP isn’t letting me respond to my comments how I like. Grrr. But I just need to say, I was up early with baby and sat here reading the last few comments and am now all teary and such. Thank you. I am truly humbled…

    And Cyndee, I wouldn’t look forward to Girl Scouts each week as much as I do if you weren’t with me, so thank you.

  7. Kathy says:

    I love the title of your blog. I believe it is important to try things again and re-invent ourselves periodically in life.
    This was a life-changing summer for me. My mom passed away in July. In August I attended a writing retreat in Wales that afforded me the opportunity to look inside myself and write about what I saw and felt. You sound like a busy woman. I hope you take time, even a few minutes a day, to be quiet and listen to life.

    K-I know all about those life changing experiences. Though hard, they really are so good for us. You sound like a very wise woman. Nice to “meet” you! 🙂

  8. sleepyjane says:

    I love this post! 🙂 LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I totally know what you mean, I really do love the people (you included) that takes the time so say hi. I’ve formed bonds with some of these people that I never thought possible.

    K-I knew you would understand! and I’m so glad to know you.

  9. Andie says:

    Heehee, so nice to meet you Karolee…although I already knew that from our emails/mailing.

    Are you on facebook?! We’ll have to connect there too if you are. Then you can see pics of my fam. I am so glad you blog and I got to get to know you. I think you are one amazing lady!

    xxoo,
    a.

    K-I am on FB, I’ll email you a link. I think you’re pretty great too, and a pretty incredible artist as well! I LOVE your paintings!

  10. bookbabie says:

    You know my mom’s name was Carol and my dad’s name is Lee, I guess that’s why we have become such good blogging buddies! That and you are a kind, thoughtful, and honest person who I am honored to know through your words and photos on this blog:)

    K-I knew there must be some sort of tie between us. 😉 We’ve gone through some losses, some celebrations, and some baby anticipation together as well. I’m grateful to know you and am so happy you share your life with me through your blog. Thank you…

Leave a Reply

