Bring Your Own Sunshine

Bring you own sunshine

Last week I unintentionally interrupted my friend giving a piano lesson. She came to the door and we spoke briefly so she could get back to teaching. The little girl at the piano looked over her shoulder, then ran over and gave my 8-year-old a big hug, then without a word went right back to the piano bench and started playing again. I didn’t recognize the girl and assumed it was a friend from school.

Later that night I was sitting with my family at a local restaurant when my 5-year-old darted from the table to greet one of her little friends who was walking in. I don’t think either of them said a word. They giggled, hugged and just smiled at each other. As Miranda sat back down at our table, I asked her who the little girl was. “One of my best friends from school.”  “Really? I asked. What’s her name? “Hmm. I don’t know” she said shrugging.

I have been witnessing scenes like this quite a bit from my daughters and I can’t help but be moved by the easy and simple love shared between them and their friends. Not only that, but I’m learning that to them the term “friend”  is pretty much anyone that they recognize from the playground. How wonderful to be young and unapologetic in the giving of your affections.

With that in mind, I have had this video in my thoughts ever since I watched it a few weeks ago, and now I can’t get a certain project idea out of my head. (If you haven’t seen this video, you should. During this time of political debates and general disrespect to our fellow man, this seems especially timely). As I have learned from past experience, it does me no good to ignore these bits of strange inspiration. I don’t have time to share now, but check back tomorrow for an experiment I have been conjuring up in my little brain and can’t wait to get started.

Speaking of little brains; I’m going to keep an eye on these two.  I think they have a lot more to teach me…

girls in the grass 2009

*artwork above by this talented mom and her daughters*
This entry was posted in family, kids, life, love, photography, random, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized, youtube video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bring Your Own Sunshine

  1. Jill says:

    Thanks for stopping by our blog today and for linking to us here. Keep us updated on this new project idea of yours!

    K-I love your work! I think I may have said that somewhere…:-) and yes, I will give you details soon. Can’t wait to see more of your art!

  2. sperlygirl says:

    great video! and i love that saying “bring your own sunshine” – that’s beautiful. 🙂

    K-Isn’t that video great? and I was so happy to find that artwork. It totally put my thoughts into words… 🙂

  3. bookbabie says:

    Great post, you’re so right, and “a little child shall lead them”, something we could all do to remember! I love that video too and the artwork in your post, did you make it?

    K-Glad you liked the post. I have a link to the blog where I found the art at the bottom of my post. You should check it out, they have a really fun style and a great collection of work.

  4. Maxxy says:

    I do usually try to keep my pockets stuffed with a little sunshine. You never know when you might need it !!

    K-You must be pretty popular in your part of the world… Who doesn’t love sunshine? 🙂 Good to see you btw.

Leave a Reply

