Project Free Parking

soggy diapers

This is my third attempt at writing this post outlining my goals and hopes for this project. I have tried writing about all of my influences, why I feel so passionately about this idea and why everyone should participate, etc. but I think we’ll have much more to discuss after the experiment gets started. Instead I’m just going to put it all out there and then you can take from it what you want. Okay? Great. Let’s get going!

Here’s what you’ll do if you choose to participate:

  • Send a message of encouragement, love, admiration or anything positive to “validate” one person every day. It could be through aΒ  letter, email, FB message, phone call, text…you get the idea. It doesn’t matter, just do it!
  • Choose a time frame; 30, 60 or 90 days. Whatever you want to commit to. I’m starting today, and plan on doing this 90 days so I end on January 1, 2010.
  • Don’t think you know 30 people?…think relatives, co-workers, neighbors, bloggers and then think again.
  • Share this idea. Feel free to re-post or tweak this idea and make it your own. The more people who get involved, the better.
  • Be committed. Try and keep a list or calendar to mark off each day so you don’t forget.
  • Have fun with it! Be creative! Try making a handmade card, or attach a cute/funny picture or inspiring quote with your email. You could even take a treat to someone and give your message face-to-face.

That’s it! It’s easy, it’s free and it will bring some sunshine to many people. So get out your address lists and get going! Thanks to you all who share positive messages all the time, like this video. If you didn’t this idea would not exist. . . Please share your stories and updates as you go. I would love to post some stories (anonymous or otherwise) here during the next few months.

If you haven’t already seen the video that inspired this project I posted it for you below. I think I have watched it ten times now. It gets better and better.Β  {The above photo is there simply because it makes me smile}

Good Luck and Happy Validating!!!

This entry was posted in family, kids, life, love, music, photography, spirituality, thoughts, Uncategorized, youtube video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Project Free Parking

  1. Nicole says:

    I’m in. I think it’s a fabulous idea!

    I did a post about your project. Hopefully, it will get some other folks motivated.

    K-That’s so nice of you to re-post, thanks! Glad you’re in… πŸ™‚

  2. Woohoo! I’m in for the full 90 days. I love this…and told you I think it’s a fabulous idea. Thank you for formulating this plan and inspiring us to join in. I’m looking forward to the positivity this will encourage.

    K-Yay! Someone close by who can keep me motivated and excited about this! Now we need the rest of the neighborhood… πŸ˜‰ Thanks Kristine!

  3. Momisodes says:

    This is a wonderful idea. What a great plan and sharing it with us.

    K-Thanks! I really hope the idea takes off. Everyone needs to be validated once in a while… πŸ˜‰

  4. Kim Skinner says:

    Thanks for sharing!

    K- πŸ™‚

  5. I love this idea K-Spin–And have been participating myself since I read your post a few days ago!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog–I hope to get back to it–I’m amazed that some people still have it in their readers!

    I’ve still been reading–not every day but most days! πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on your beautiful Baby Geoffrey! πŸ™‚

    K-I’m so glad to hear you are participating. Jake is making me a blog button for the “free parking” that you can use…I’ll post it when he’s done. And of course you’re still in my reader! I get excited when something from you pops up! πŸ˜‰

  6. Pingback: Another Month OF Free Parking « Kspin’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

