A {Not So} Spooky Sneak Peek

Sept. 2009 693

I don’t think I have ever gotten excited about Halloween decorations in the past, but after starting my little centerpiece (pictured above) last night, I think I might be hooked! Maybe it’s just because I got to play with mod-podge and glitter at the same time. Nothing like having teeny glitter all over your hands (and face, clothes and everywhere else) to get you in a festive mood. I’m so glad I have creative friends who hold my hand through projects like these. I seriously don’t know how all of you creative people come up with original ideas. Really. You all have crazy abilities to make dollar store items look like something Martha Stewart would sell for fifty bucks. I salute you.

I had to go to three stores this morning to get all the proper bling to finish out my project. Have you noticed that if you try and buy cute craft items less than a month before the upcoming holiday you are way behind? and the best/cheapest stuff is totally picked over and it’s only October 2nd? I hadn’t until today. Wow! The crafting world is a whole different breed of people. You know, the kind that actually plan ahead and all that.

I actually felt like I had an upper hand today though. I have been all over the crafty-blog scene recently and was able to buy some things ahead, knowing exactly what I would use them for. Again, another first for me. For example, while in the dollar store I found the exact sign used in this post and so I snagged a few. Now I have a fun craft for me and my girls to do over the weekend while we watch conference. Well, after I finish up my witches hat of course. Oh, and all of the other sewing projects I have started. Good thing that fall break starts next week!

While I’m pretending to be all crafty, I’ll go ahead and post some pictures of last months card swap. I know how all of you love the card pictures! September’s theme was masculine/blank, but as you’ll see, some of us just don’t do masculine.

Aug 2009 026

Don’t I have talented friends? I have to say, some of my favorites this month were the non-masculine cards, so you won’t hear me complaining about going against the theme. Well done girls!

Aug 2009 024

I actually had a hard time doing a masculine card this time as well. Mine was very simple like last time. . . maybe even a little too simple, but it’s hard to embellish a card and keep in looking manly at the same time. I liked it enough to make a few extra for those times when you need a basic blank card. (If you are in my world, you end up needing those more than you think you would!)

Aug 2009 022

Now that baby Geoffrey is 3 months old I feel like I am settling into more of a routine where I’m not afraid to make a little mess completely destroy the house in order to do some fun projects. I know that eventually I will find the time to clean it up. Eventually. I have a lot more projects up my sleeve, so don’t be surprised if you see lots more posts like this. I’ll try to do some tutorials for some cards and such. And I’ll even start posting the pictures on flickr for easy reference and your crafting enjoyment. I’m good like that. But I’m not fast these days, so it may be a slow process. Be patient with me, mmkay?

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend. Why don’t you ensure some of your friends have a wonderful weekend too by validating? Just a thought… 🙂

This entry was posted in art, crafts, family, kids, life, photography, random, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A {Not So} Spooky Sneak Peek

  1. Alys Morris says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished product! I’m still working on mine too! You are crafty and you know it!!!

    K-I’m only crafty when I copy people like you! 🙂 Send me a picture when you’re done too…

  2. Becca Leeper says:

    I’ve bookmarked your blog and check it regularly, thanks for the great ideas and sweet thoughts. I knew you were amazing, I’m just sorry you live so far away now. 😉

    K-I am so flattered Becca. Thank you! Who knows, maybe we’ll back up in SL someday. 🙂

  3. sleepyjane says:

    Oh I love crafty posts!! 🙂

    Especially the card posts.

    K-I thought you would like it. I have more cards to go back and add. I’m wanting to revamp this place next week…we’ll see! 🙂

  4. sleepyjane says:

    Oh and the centerpiece looks fantastic!

    K-It’s done! I’m just about to post some pictures. It was a lot of fun. I want to make a bunch now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

