Ghouls And Glitter

Over the weekend, Maddy, Miranda and I finished my centerpiece I had started last Thursday at my card group.

It all started with a cheap satin witches hat and some fun accessories: we have ribbon, flowers, a crow, some beaded “twigs” and a big spider from Michaels. Some skulls, a skeleton and mini spider rings (with the ring cut off the back) from the dollar store, and some feathers, glittery pom poms and netting from my friend Shenise who gave me this great idea.

Oct. 2009 001

We then got busy sewing some satin flowers, “blinging out” the spiders and skulls with some mod podge and Martha Stewart glitter and figuring out the placement for all of our decorations.I think I used at least 5 hot glue sticks putting it all together…

finished halloween hat
And here is the finished product! Isn’t it great? I may have gone a little overboard with all the “stuff”, but now there is a little something for everybody on it. The flowers for me, Jake picked the sign, everything shiny for the girls, and Patrick likes the skeleton and skulls. (such a boy!)

halloween hat

halloween hat back view
We had a relaxing weekend for the first time in a long time which was a good thing as this little project took quite a bit of our time. Now it feels a little more like fall here in the land that doesn’t get cold. We had lots of fun and can’t wait to do more crafty projects.

The girls’ favorite part?… playing with glitter and making some new rings!

glittered spider

So what fun things did you all do over the weekend?

*See Alys’ hat here*

This entry was posted in art, crafts, family, kids, life, photography, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ghouls And Glitter

  1. Nicole says:

    I love those satin flowers. It turned out great! Zane loves trying to pick the crow off of mine. He thinks it’s his pet.

    K-Go Zane! lol! That kid cracks me up. Thanks! 🙂

  2. Alys Morris says:

    Wow! It turned out sooo good! I totally love the cheetah print ribbon.

    K-Wish I could take credit for the idea of that ribbon, but Shenise was the mastermind behind that one! I love your purple hat and I’m so jealous of your Halloween decor this year. House looks great Alys! 🙂

  3. cyndee says:

    it turned out so cute!!! LOVE IT

    K-I’m a pro now if you want to make one I could help! 😉 thanks!

  4. sleepyjane says:

    That looks really fantastic!!

    K-Thanks! Every time I walk by it it makes me want to start another craft! 🙂

  5. You are really very impressive. I wish I was 1/2 as crafty.

    K-I have lots of help for my projects. Except for sewing. That’s one thing I can manage okay on my own! This makes me look crafty though, so that’s cool! 🙂

  6. I LOVE this! I know it was as much fun to make as it is to look at! Awesome.

    K-It really was a blast to make. If someone else was buying the materials, I’d make a bunch! 😉

Leave a Reply

