Thank You…

dad and mom

These are my parents. Aren’t they cute? I got to spend quite a bit of time with them last week and really enjoyed every little bit of it. I loved watching baby Geoffrey getting to know his grandparents and seeing how his little smiles would bring them so much joy. I am so lucky to have parents, in-laws and family who appreciate and love my children as much as Jake and I do. We are truly blessed…

Family has been the focus for most of my thoughts lately, and with yesterday being Veteran’s Day, my dad has been in the forefront of my pondering.  He is such an incredible man and a great example to me and my family. He gives without hesitation and teaches through example. He loves unconditionally and is always kind. He is humble. He serves constantly and always has. . . not only to those around him but also to his country years ago while in Vietnam.

I’m sure it wouldn’t have been something he would have signed right up for, but he believes in following the laws of the land, so when he was drafted he served without complaint and gave his all just like he does in every other aspect of his life. Though he doesn’t talk much about it, I know he was a hero to many. Not only in the physical sense, but spiritually and emotionally as well.

My dad is also my hero. I don’t know anyone who works harder than my father. He is up before the sun most mornings and for half of the year he is still working after most have gone to sleep. Yet his reasons for working so much are anything but selfish. Of course it is first to provide, but my dad also loves to spend time with his family and any “extra” income often goes towards modest trips for all of us to participate in, dinners and outings, or toward his current project; remodeling the basement to accommodate his growing posterity.

I have so much respect for my dad and I hope that I can live as humbly and always give back, just as he has shown me how throughout his life. When I visit  my parent’s home, I am reminded of a simpler way of life and although it sometimes makes me crazy, I appreciate the way they forgo certain luxuries to be able to help their family and others in need. I still have a lot to learn, so thank you Dad and Mom, for continuing to teach me even though we live far apart…

*p.s. I need to thank my little brother for throwing a “wedding celebration” party last week that gave me an excuse to go up to Utah and visit with all those people I love. 🙂

This entry was posted in family, life, random, thoughts, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank You…

  1. bookbabie says:

    Wonderful tribute to your parents K, glad you and the family had a nice visit. I know it must mean a lot to them when their scattered family comes together:)

    K-They are pretty wonderful people… thanks! 🙂

  2. Kemi says:

    Your parents are so cute!

    (You look a lot like your mom.)

    K-Thanks! I do take after my mom’s side for sure…though a few years ago I never would have admitted it! 😉

Leave a Reply

