Not On The List

So today is my birthday.  It’s not a significant birthday (as birthdays go). I am now 34. However, what that means is that I have only one year to try to complete my 35 before 35 list. For the last month I have been mulling this fact over, wondering how I can possibly accomplish all of my lofty goals in one short year. One year goes by fast. Too fast…

I can’t even believe that almost 2 years have gone by since I made this list. Honestly, until last month I hadn’t even looked at it since the last update. There are a few things that I know are not going to happen, like taking my kids somewhere new once a month. Um, yeah. The novelty of moving to a new state wore off quite a while ago and I don’t have what many people would call “free time”. Also, I don’t think it’s feasible to learn Spanish in 12 months. Well, not for me anyway.

I was happy to find that some areas on my list that were lacking before, ie; giving service, volunteering, writing thank you notes, have become an almost weekly event for me now. And there are a few things that I am confident that I can tackle in this next year. Biking a century, starting a journal, and participating in a triathlon are definitely doable! And surfing. Yes. That is one goal I really want to do! I finally got a chance to go to the ocean last month, but I was still out of shape from baby and the weather was too chilly for this desert momma.

Speaking of baby. He wasn’t on the list. I had no idea that we would be adding a new member to our already semi-largish family this year. That was a major glitch in my plans, but a very sweet, adorable, loving, chubby little glitch that I now couldn’t think of my life without!

I’m a different kspin than I was when I started this blog and mapped out my personal goals. The old me would be more than a little bugged that I wasn’t well on my way to completing this list, but the new me (Karolee, remember?) is pleased with all that I have accomplished with many things that weren’t even planned, let alone on any of my lists.

There are many reasons for this change, but the main one has everything to do with goal number 3:  Be more spiritual. If every item on my list was scratched off, save number 3. . . well, lets just say I would be a mess. And unhappy, unfulfilled, and lots of other uns too. Just knowing that I am right back on track spiritually has made many other areas of my life seem trivial and non-goal worthy anymore. If I left my list just as it is, I would still feel like I had made some incredible progress. (more on this topic later)

Of course I’ll still try to cross off as many of the 35 items as I can. I had really put some thought into these goals, and I don’t want to treat them as unimportant. I mean, what would people think if they knew I had never done karaoke?…


This entry was posted in family, humor, kids, life, love, random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not On The List

  1. Kemi says:

    I haven’t done it, either. But don’t tell anyone… 🙂

    K-Your secret is safe with me!

  2. Nicole says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Every birthday is significant. Never forget that. 🙂

    Sounds like you’ve been on quite the journey and racking up the lifetime experience miles. Also sounds like you know what really matters. We can’t ask for too much more than that.

    K-Lifetime experience miles… I love that! I’ll have to make a log for that too. 😉 And I will remember your advice!

  3. Jamie says:

    Happy, happy birthday! You inspire me! I don’t know how you keep up with your family let alone keep up with your list. I’m working on one as well (a list of goals that is, although the family part would be nice too.) You’ve made much more progress than I have – and I don’t have a family to share my time with. I love your attitude – there are some things that matter more than others. And, I believe in many cases the journey of self improvement is more important than actually reaching that goal.

    K-When I train for marathons I always miss the training after I run the race, so I think I know exactly what you mean. And for the record, when I was younger my plans were to travel the world solo… We never know what we are meant for I guess. 😉 Someday I’ll be traveling again, and you’ll be home chillin’ with your family!

  4. It is good to have goals but also ok to re-adjust as necessary. And you will NEVER find me doing Karaoke. In fact, my life list might actually contain the goal to never give in to Karaoke. 🙂

    K-My entire life is a re-adjustment! 😉 and I have also found it’s wise to never say never so careful what you say!

  5. bookbabie says:

    Happy birthday weekend Karolee (if you’re anything like me you try to stretch it out!) You look adorable (and much younger than almost 35). I’m glad you allow your goal list to wobble and change with time. That’s what life is really all about, change, the good things and the not so good things come and go and how we receive them and learn from them is so important. It can make us or break us, love to you all:)

    K-Thank you! Last year I felt 100 on by b-day, but this year I’m feeling pretty peppy! 🙂 I am dragging it out a little, but only because we haven’t even done the cake part yet. Hopefully tomorrow…(hint, hint Jakey!)

  6. jennie says:

    You go girl-look how wise you are!

    K-I don’t know about wise, but definitely less dumb! lol! 🙂

  7. Momisodes says:

    Happy Belated birthday!!!

    You look gorgeous. And I have to say that I am in complete admiration of your list.

    K-Thanks Sandy! You’re too sweet!

  8. Allison says:

    Karaoke isn’t so scary. I can’t carry a tune at all, but if you put enough people in your group to sing and you have an awesome song, it will be a success! You can do it!!

    K-Good point, I never said I had to be alone! 😉 It will be done this next year…

Leave a Reply

