Sew Busy…

Wow. So I totally abandoned my blog there for a while, didn’t I? Sorry about that!

It’s been a crazy few weeks here and it doesn’t seem to be calming down anytime soon. I have been sewing and crafting every free minute I have (which usually only happens between 10pm and 2am) to get some Christmas projects done before heading up north next week, and I’m starting to get in full panic mode. Sometimes that’s the only way I really get anything done, so I guess it’s okay.

This is a sampling of what I’m working on this week. I got commissioned to make some half-aprons for my sister to give as gifts, and then I am trading more aprons for gifts for my sisters that I’m really excited about. In all, there was about 12 aprons to make. I am only finished with 5, but most of the rest are at least cut out or half-sewn. Do you recognize that purple fabric from this quilt? (I didn’t do any denim quilts this year for Christmas, but I just revamped the office to accommodate my sewing machine and scrapbooking items, so I’m hoping this next year will be full of crafting.)

Between my new church calling, and my family gift list, I have also had the chance to try some great tutorials I have found online from some crafty bloggers. I thought it would be fun to post my results and pass on any tips I learned while attempting some of these projects.  The first one I tried is a car cozy that I found here. This would also be fun to use girly material and use it for Polly pockets or crayons, etc.

This was a great tutorial and a quick, fun project. The only things I did differently were to change the size of the road stripes, and add one of my girls’ elastic hair bands to the outside instead of ribbon. That was actually Jake’s recommendation after her reminded me that most 3 year olds aren’t able to tie. Oh yeah, right. (for more pictures, click on my Flickr link on the right) I have a few more projects that I will post after the holidays when I have some time.

We were also lucky enough to have Jake’s Grandma stay with us for most of the week last week (which was a total surprise). The kids loved singing Christmas songs and reading Christmas books with her.

Geoffrey was especially fond of Grandma Fernie and would smile the whole time she held him. I was impressed that this cute 88 year old could even pick up my chunky monkey. Patrick just wanted Grandma to light saber battle with him, but settled for her to do his Spiderman puzzle with him instead. I was keeping the video camera close hoping Grandma would pick up a light saber so I could catch her fighting him on video. No luck. I guess I’ll try again when we see her again next week.

Okay. My break is up. Time to get crafting again. Anyone else have some fun projects you are working on?…

This entry was posted in art, Christmas, crafts, family, kids, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sew Busy…

  1. Jamie says:

    I’m envious of your Christmas crafting – I wish I had the skill and ambition. But this year just making it to the store to get gifts seems to be the best I can do.

    K-Don’t be envious. I’m starting to think I was a little insane to take all this on! 🙂 Luckily I can see the end…

  2. bookbabie says:

    Love that you squeeze in time for crafting in the busy family life you have Karolee. Geoffrey is getting so big and so cute! He looks like he could be my Brooklyn’s brother:)

    K-I have noticed that G and B look a lot alike. They would make a good looking couple! 🙂

Leave a Reply

