And I’m back…

I always have a hard time knowing how to jump into posting again when I have taken such a long break. I tend to over complicate things, so instead I’ll just list a few things that have been on my mind lately.

  • First, packing up a family of 6 (one being an infant) to spend the holidays with family out of state is so much work. SO, SO, SO much work. But it is still worth it. Just barely though. We’ll see if I forget how hard it all was by next Christmas.
  • Beatles Rock Band was the best money my little brother has spent in a long time. Not that I know what else he has spent his money on recently, but I’ll bet I’m right on this one.
  • The more organized I get, the more I realize how unorganized I have been in the past. Now replace the word organized in this sentence with your choice of aΒ  hundred different words and they would probably apply as well.
  • I’m never happier to be living in Arizona than mid January when we’re spending our time outside in the beautiful weather. It also makes it a lot easier to leave our wonderful families after Christmas knowing that we are coming back to 70 degrees and sunshine.
  • I have way too much “stuff”. Even after an entire year of purging and simplifying, I still feel like I have excess.
  • Now that my baby is 6 months old, I feel like my old self again. Don’t quite look like her yet, but I’m feeling like I can take on all of my old responsibilities again. (I’m sure my husband is very pleased about this one.)
  • Responsibilities are fine, but I don’t think resolutions are going to be part of the plan this year.
  • I think I may be addicted to crafting. Or maybe just to the idea of crafting. ie; bookmarking 20 craft blogs a day and printing out countless tutorials, patterns, recipes, etc. hoping that I’ll have some free time to actually make something. HA!
  • Dunkin Donuts are just not that good. They taste like donuts from any grocery store bakery. I have a feeling I’m going to get crap for this one, but seriously, warm Krispy Kreme donuts are the only ones worth all the fat and calories. It’s a really good thing it was not the latter that just opened a few miles away…
  • I miss writing here. Not just updating mind you, actual writing that requires actual thought. I think I’ll be trying more of that as the year progresses.
  • This year is going to be better. Not that last year was terrible or anything. In fact, it was a really great year, I just know this one will be even better.

Now if I had a resolution this year, (which I don’t because I’m already freaking out about my list), it would be to just do everything better. I’ve added all that I want to add to my life and weeded out all that didn’t belong, and now I need to focus on being better with my time, energy and deliberateness. (Don’t worry, I may have just made up that word. ).

My morning routine can be improved by getting enough sleep at night and relying on a consistent routine. Time spent with my kids could have added benefits if I lead our dialogue in certain directions to teach while we work or play, and try to have projects on hand to pull out when the tv gets turned on too long or fighting is breaking out a little too often.

That’s just a few examples of the areas that I could improve plan to improve in, but I think you get the idea. Overall, I feel great. I’m refreshed, renewed, inspired, empowered, grateful and ready to tip my hat and say adios to 2009.

So what’s your plan for 2010? How will this year be better than the last?…

And with those last words I just have to add some Counting Crows. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in family, life, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And I’m back…

  1. My first goal for the new year, is to learn how to only spend money when necessary and gain some control in that area.

    My second goal is to not be jealous that you are warm right now.

    K-Good goal. That’s one I seem to always be working on as well. As far as the jealousy goes we’ll be switching places come July and the 120 degree temps! πŸ™‚

  2. Nicole says:

    Welcome back – and happy New Year! I’m with you on the not making resolutions. (Someone told me that that’s negative because my reasoning is that they are made to be broken ergo we set ourselves up to fail from the very start. Somehow, I find THAT infinitely more negative!) My goal for last year was for it to be better than 2008 – and it was. So much so, that I hope to repeat the process again THIS year! I think I’m in a better place emotionally and mentally than last year, maybe financially, too, and hoping to keep all of it that way in 2010.

    And writing … funny you mention that. People have really responded to a few posts I did recently and it has let me know that maybe I’m in a better place there, too. And THAT feels terrific! πŸ™‚

    K-Yay to progressively better years! and I have always thought you were a terrific writer. Believe me, I wouldn’t read about the specifics of remodeling a house, driveway, porch, etc. from just anyone. πŸ™‚ Cheers to a great new year!

  3. Johnsonteammom says:

    Somehow I feel the dig at Bro. Dunkin was directed to someone specific:) I won’t even comment on that.

    As for New Year’s goals, I have made 3: Strengthen myself spiritually, run a marathon, and keep my house cleaner. (I won’t tell you how miserably I’m failing the last one today).

    Let’s remember that a goal not written down is also just a wish.

    K-Lol! I only put that part in there because I had just had some and they didn’t quite measure up to the hot KK ones I had while in Utah. πŸ˜‰ I agree about the writing down of your goals. That’s why I can’t add more. I have too many staring me in the face already!

  4. Momisodes says:

    So great to see you back! I’m with you this year on not making resolutions. I avoided them specifically this year.

    K-You have busy enough year without worrying about something silly like resolutions Sandy. πŸ˜‰ I’m so excited for you and your family…

  5. I agree with you on the Dunkin Doughnuts thing! πŸ™‚ So not worth the calories. Glad to hear you had a nice safe Christmas! I’m also looking forward to this New Year, (now that we’re a month into it.) There is so much I can improve on. πŸ™‚ I have also started writing more on my blog and have found that I really enjoy it, it is very theraputic. πŸ™‚ Hope you guys are enjoying your nice weather while we freeze. πŸ™‚ We miss you guys!!

    K-Thanks Nancy! I know what you mean about writing. Now I just need to find the time! Miss you too… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

