Like Mother Like Daughter?

No, not really I guess. Remember the other day when I said my now 6-year-old wears her heart on her sleeve? Well, she doesn’t get it from me.

See, the thing is, I’m friends with lots of people. Not bragging here, just saying that I find it easy to get along with almost anyone that I’m thrown in the mix with. I like a variety of pals so that I always have a buddy to tag along for whatever occasion arises. I’ve been really spoiled to be surrounded by great friends wherever I’m living and I am so grateful for that. There really is an abundance of great women in my ‘hood’.

With that being said, for me to have one friend that doesn’t require a designated reason to hang with is very, very rare. Outside of my sisters who really are my BFFs (and of course my hubby) I only have a handful of people in this category. I don’t try to be this way and I honestly think that’s one of the mysteries about myself that I may never figure out.

The point of this whole post is that I found one of those friends here and she has truly blessed my life. We swap kids, we swap food from pantries, (which reminds me I have some stuffing mix I owe) we bounce ideas back and forth from home decorating to deep spiritual concepts. We have clocked many, many running miles together and have pushed one another to reach many goals; some of which had nothing to do with running at all… She has been an inspiration, a shoulder to cry on, a motivator and a sounding board for my constant babble.

And she is moving.

I have known for quite a while now, but I kept pushing the thought to the back of my mind, telling myself that the dreaded time is not here yet. Well, today she is gone. Looking for a new home. In a new neighborhood. In a new state and I am heartbroken.

Of course I am excited for her and this great opportunity for her family, and I’m sure that we will get together whenever possible, and catch up on Facebook, our blogs, phone calls, etc. but tonight. . . tonight I am in mourning.

.

.

.

Tomorrow I’ll wake up. The sun will be out. I’ll go for a run. I’ll be busy as usual. I will tie all loose ends for this current event and I will calendar ahead for the next big event. And I will do it all happily with a smile on my face and I promise it will be sincere – but only because I could get all of the sad and weepiness out of my system right here.

Thank goodness for blogs, or people like me might explode or something…

This entry was posted in coping, life, spirituality, thoughts, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Like Mother Like Daughter?

  1. Nicole says:

    Glad you didn’t explode. Moving is the pits.

    K-Well, apparently I exploded last night… but I’m feeling much better now! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks Nicole.

  2. Kemi says:

    You’re lucky. I don’t have that. I long for a “bestie” like yours, even if she is moving. (Which is SAD! Don’t people know they stay put forever?) ๐Ÿ˜€

    Still, I’m sorry for your loss. Also, can I just go on record here and say how much I hate change? (Unless it’s a good change, of course.)

    K-Thank goodness she’s still around for a little longer, so I’ll definitely take advantage of that. Strangely, I usually like change… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Momisodes says:

    It is never easy when friends move away. I’m very sorry. I’m glad to you have this outlet as well.

    K-Me too! It really helps to get these things out.

  4. sleepyjane says:

    โค

    K- ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I tend to just have a few close friends, that is the way I have always been. When I moved here, it took me a while, but I found the perfect friend for me. And I know I would explode if she moved, and they have had opportunities to do so, and the thought of that makes me hurt. Hang in there!

    K-I moved away from my sisters and survived so I know I’ll be fine, but in my perfect world they would all live close! Thanks for this… ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. cresta says:

    tears, tears, and more tears

    ditto
    K-Dang! I’ve been doing so much better until now. {sniff} You’ll be missed…

Leave a Reply

