8 Months Today…

As I am in this “cleaning house” mode, I have really wondered where to go with my blog. Is it a journal? is it a craft space? what is really going on here? Honestly, I don’t really know. I do know that if or when I decide to stick to one topic or theme I’m going to just start over from scratch. Kspinning needs to be whatever I feel like at the moment. I like my schizophrenic site. It’s so, well. . . me!

Tonight my blog is my milestone keeper. Geoffrey of course has hit many ‘firsts’ in these last eight months and I have recorded exactly two of them. It’s terrible! He rolled over, ate solid food, sat up unassisted, held his own bottle and countless other things that I thought for sure I would remember the exact date of forever, but I don’t!

This week he has had quite a few firsts, so I better list them now and therefore be prepared for the time 8 years from now when he is asking me to tell him all about his baby days with specific dates and details. (thanks to missMaddymillionquestions I know this day will come)

  • Geoffrey got his first tooth a couple of weeks ago and is really having a terrible time with teething right now. I’m not sure how Jake and I are going to survive with even less sleep than we’ve been getting, which reminds me, he has only slept through the night 2 times now. 2!!Β  {sigh}
  • A couple of days ago Geoffrey did an army crawl/lunge thingy to reach Patrick’s light saber. He was so determined. It was almost as cool as when he dove out of his Bumbo to grab a Frito from his big sister’s bowl.
  • Yesterday he held a baby doll and gave it a kiss, then tonight he gave this Momma an actual, intentional kiss. He was so soft and sweet about it too. Melted my heart I tell ya.
  • Tonight again he was slithering around on the floor looking for treasures that I work really hard for him not to find. Stuff like Polly Pocket shoes, baretts or any other choking hazards that my kids like to drop on the floor. I sure do vacuum a lot more now!
  • Remember Patrick’s cool trick? Just this week Geoffrey learned how to make the “Momma spit bubbles”. So proud…
  • He can say Momma too, but he’s been doing that for a while, so it’s practically old news now!
  • This boy LOVES food and he eats a lot of it! He eats ‘solid’ food 3 times a day and still nurses as well. His Dr. told us he can eat table food now as long as it’s mushy. Meat and all that. This is so much earlier than my other kids! Of course, he is much bigger than any of my kids were at this age too. (20lbs and 30″ for those of you who like to keep track! )

Tonight after Jake and I tucked the girls in their beds we got the boys ready for short story time. (another post about that later) Patrick started goofing off and bonked his head on the wall hard enough to make him cry and want an ice pack on his head. By the time Jake was back with the Baggie full of ice, Patrick was fine and giggling at Geoffrey who was trying to steal a monkey pillow away from his big brother.

When Patrick tried to balance the ice on his head we were gifted with the most wonderful sound we had heard in a few years; Geoffrey was laughing. A real, open mouth, full-on belly laugh! It totally caught me by surprise and made me grin from ear to ear. I actually can remember all of my kids first real laughs. It’s such a magical thing. Pure joy really…

While I write this, I can’t help but think of some good friends who are just beginning the long and stressful process of adopting a baby. I know that this last year has been especially trying on them and I can hear the weariness in their voices when we talk. All of the heartache, uncertainty and pain that they have felt will surely melt away when they become parents, and then are privileged to hear the sweet sound of their own little girl’s laughter for the first time. What an incredible day that will be…

*Thanks to the lovely Cresta for the great Geoffrey photo!

This entry was posted in family, kids, life, love, photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 8 Months Today…

  1. Jamie says:

    What an awesome post – so full of wonderful memories. I can’t believe he is 8 months old already. Time really does fly.

    K-Yes it does! I remember my parents telling me how time goes by so quickly when you’re older, so now I know that I am indeed OLD! πŸ™‚

  2. sperlygirl says:

    oh my, he is such a good-looking little man. and what a smile! πŸ™‚ xx s

    K-He has this huge grin his does that makes his eyes little scrunchy half moons and I love it! Thanks!

  3. Kemi says:

    I love that you can see that tiny tooth poking out from the bottom. What a sweet baby! πŸ™‚

    K-It is a tiny tooth, but it is SHARP!! trust me! lol!

  4. Nicole says:

    Wow! Loved this. Too sweet.

    He is getting so big. And he’s still just as adorable as ever. HOW do you do that?1 πŸ™‚

    I laughed as I read your concern over where your blog was going and what it’s topic should be. I marvel that you have time to blog AT ALL!

    K-I don’t have time to blog, but sometimes I’ll put off unimportant things like sleep to get a post in once in a while! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

