The Missing Ingredient

I’m not gonna lie to you, last month kicked my trash was tough. I really thought I was getting it together with all of my sorting and planning and general bossing around of other K family members to help me make our abode “a house of order”.

Well, I screwed up. But because I care, I’ll share my misgivings with you so that you don’t have a house full of people who hide from you because they know you are going to make them take something to their rooms, or out to the garbage, or wipe something down, etc. every. single. time they see you. Yes. There is something called overkill…


Recent rainy weekends + me in spring cleaning mode was at first a great combination, but after the 3rd week straight, even I was getting on my own nerves. I was starting to wonder if I was just not built to run a clutter-free, schedule-oriented household. I am still wondering…

Luckily for my children the sun came out again and I realized how pale we all were. Just kidding. (Except in regards to Patrick. Have you seen that kid lately? He could be mistaken for Elliot on ET right now.) I did, however, come to my senses and decide that in all my new found scheduling I made the HUGE mistake of leaving out time to play.

Don’t make this same mistake friends. They need it. You need it. And at least once a day too. Just like the apple thing. In fact, take some apples to the park and do some multitasking. And make sure to take some great friends to play with, who in turn, might take some awesome pictures of you and your kids enjoying a beautiful spring day in the desert. πŸ˜‰

Our Friday park day was a wonderful intro to a well balanced weekend that I know all of us enjoyed and needed. As I see the quick growth of my kids, I am reminded (again) that this short period of sheer chaos which is my life, is truly short and I need to treasure it. I’m feeling a little more optimistic about finding that illusive recipe of balance that seems to remain just out of reach. But at least I can now see it.

That, to me, is progress…

This entry was posted in family, kids, love, photography, thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Missing Ingredient

  1. Nicole says:

    I love the picture of you and Geoffrey on the bee. When did he grow up?

    K-I know! He’s getting so big… I love the pic too, but if I would’ve known there was going to be a camera there I would of put on some more make up. πŸ˜‰

  2. Isn’t that what life is all about? Growth?
    I decided a while back that as much as I desire the cleanliness, I desire the happy family and content kids more, and so…I hold my kids when they need it, read stories, have pleasant conversations, and try not to overlook the *really* important things…

    That being said, I still have that part of me that always wishes my house was just a little cleaner.
    Sigh.
    I’m still learning.

    K-Then you must be on the right track Kristine. And you’re right, learning and growing are the whole point. πŸ™‚

  3. Nicole says:

    Your kids are SO beautiful. Definitely sounds to me like you’ve made progress!

    K-You are too sweet! Thanks!

  4. J says:

    You know what? I really, really like you.
    You know what else? I love how Patrick last night told you that his favorite thing to do as a family was “all going to the park together . . . except for Dad”. That was excellent.

    K-Hahaha! I love that kid… If it’s any consolation, I like it when you are at the park with us. πŸ™‚

  5. Jamie says:

    What a great reminder of the things that really matter.

    K-This goes for everyone mind you. Don’t forget to play too Jamie! πŸ˜‰

  6. The missing ingredient here is that sunshine…..
    I understand the cleaning thing, and I think you are right, we need more play time.

    K-True, the sunshine helps. Every weekend has been dark and rainy for way too long here, but the weekdays are great. It’s a trade off I guess. I have a hard time relaxing when there are “things” to be done, but the play time is just as important. It’s tough to switch gears! πŸ˜‰

  7. Momisodes says:

    I’ve definitely been bitten by the cleaning bug as well. It’s hard not to when you have Spring fever! Glad to hear you all had a chance to bask in some sunshine. It really can be the best medicine.

    K-Cleaning bug or nesting? πŸ™‚ Hope it warms up for you soon.

  8. jennie says:

    What great photos! It is so rare to get pictures of mom and the kids together-they’re treasures. Your kids are so cute and I’m jealous that it’s sunny there.

    K-I know what you mean, I’m always the one taking the pictures around here. I don’t want to rub it in, but it is REALLY nice right now. My parents are visiting here and loving it!

  9. Kate says:

    Just discovered your lovely blog:) Havent been on facebook in ages as its been acting up… but just got your message about our little paper guy. Hes been hanging out with us non stop… sorry its taken us so long… we will send him back this weekend with the story of his travels. All my love to you, jake, and your beautiful kids.
    Kate

    K-Thanks Kate! I sure miss you guys and can’t wait to hear about your adventures with Stanley! πŸ˜‰

  10. andie says:

    Love these sun shiny pics of you and your kiddo’s. You look so radiant.

    K-Aw, thanks. Sunshine does wonders… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

