I lost, but not enough.

So, last month I thought it would be a great idea to join in a weight loss challenge with some of my friends. I consider myself a pretty healthy eater, and I work out pretty consistently, so I thought this would be a no-brainer for me. Not so much.

I did learn a few things though, the first is that there is a reason I don’t own a scale. I just don’t care what is says. I really don’t. I do care how my clothes fit and if I have energy or not, and as long as I can carry my 22lb baby up and down the stairs without panting too much I feel like I’m doing okay. I do love to run, but mostly it’s because I’m able to eat more of the things that I love. It’s a vicious but kinda wonderful circle really.

The second thing I learned was that you actually have to really watch your calorie intake and make sure you are working out enough to burn all those calories + to actually lose weight. I found out that nursing counts for about 500 calories a day. That was really cool. What wasn’t cool, was that Geoffrey decided to give that up during my challenge. There goes my two snacks for the day! AND there was also Easter candy in my house. Do you know how many calories are in a little handful of Cadbury Mini Eggs?… Believe me, you don’t want to know!

Well, my friends are at it again with another month of this insanity, but this time I opted out. I’m hoping that just knowing that they are all working really hard will deter me from devouring the entire bag ofΒ  peanut M&M’s that I hid from my kids put away in a safe place. This contest of theirs should at the very least guarantee me a running or workout partner more often which will help get me out and run in the eminent heat that we get this time of year.

As a reward to myself for the torture I endured last month, I decided to start a 30 day goal for myself ; I’m going to post something here everyday for the month of May. I’m always bummed when there are no new updates on my friends blogs, so I in turn need to be a better blogger. I’ll try friends. Really I will.

All in all, I’m pretty sure I will do better at this than the weight loss goal. But only because it means I don’t have to give up my Nutella. Or carbs. Or bacon. Mmm, bacon…

This entry was posted in contest, life, random, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I lost, but not enough.

  1. cyndee says:

    HAh, I still have not given up nursing, and yes, Im sure most people find that wacked, with me having a near 3 year old πŸ˜‰ (and I could care less, she is my last an I wont give it up till SHE chooses), though its certainly not enough to burn 500 a day at this point, maybe its more like 5. Dont care though, calorie or opinion wise ;). And Im also NOT concerned with weight loss as far as numbers go, I care much more about weight loss and how I feel, and look, one of which is great right now (and its not how I look)! You are one of the healthiest peeps I know, so I dont even know why your concerned…. except that maybe your like me and need a project ;). My project this year is me, I plan to keep feeling good, enjoy life, get healthier, and oh yes, stop buying rubber stamps, πŸ˜€ (is it ok if I white lie?) Bacon though, that will never go away, I may be choosing the low carb lifestyle-lifelong change (despite the occasional bread and potato binges) out of a independently researched dietitians point of view but, I will NOT give up BACON or fat, or fried foods, LOL, and yet Im losing and happy :D. Point being do what works ;), your not them and they are not you …
    K-You are wacked! but not because you are still nursing. πŸ˜‰ I would have nursed a lot longer if it weren’t for my son who thinks he’s ready for bacon already!

  2. Cresta says:

    Brilliant! I too will try to be a better blogger πŸ™‚ I’ll be looking forward to your daily posts!

    K-Good! I’ve been missing your updates. Well, and you too! πŸ™‚

  3. Jamie says:

    OH – I’m so excited about your new challenge – because I get the benefits with none of the work!!!!

    K-Lol, it’s a win-win because you are a much better (more consistent) blogger than me. πŸ™‚

  4. Kim Skinner says:

    I’m with you on the bacon thing. It’s just too good to give up. Period. I need to be a better blogger too. πŸ™‚

    K-You have some serious will-power! I lasted a whole 2.5 hours before I broke down and had sugar. Must try harder. πŸ™‚

  5. Jennie says:

    K- I love reading your posts and I’m even more excited that there will be a “treat” every day for me to look forward to.

    K-Ditto about yours too. I’m so glad you are a great updater! πŸ™‚

  6. Nicole says:

    Hey, you LOST. I was hoping to at least shed a pound this week, but no. Not yet.

    Back on the health-ier wagon. I’m not a huge healthy eater but I do go through these cycles where I genuinely try and even sometimes succeed! So, my hat’s off to you.

    Besides, with FOUR kids to chase after, I’m sure you’ve got another outlet for burning calories.

    I just bought a book tonight listing 15 foods that help burn fat. The first one (which is actually three) made me smile BIG TIME: low-fat milk, low-fat yogurt and SWISS CHEESE! πŸ™‚

    K-I pretty much have to workout constantly just to maintain. Age must be catching up to me! I need the other 14 items from your book! I could use all the help I can get. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

